Abstinent Today:

I am a gratefully recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“I have learned that when the pain of where I am is worse than the fear of where I’m going, I welcome change.”

Considering a point of yesterday’s devotion that God spends Himself on gaining our attention, then using it to teach us a better way to more abundant life with Him, I imagine much of our pain is of our own doing, and may very well be to bring about our redirection.  “Why does God allow bad things to happen?” is a question most of us ask or attempt to answer, and at least some of the explanation must be in this very concept.  Why do we earthly parents spank our children when they run into the street?  To keep them from running into the street again and risk being killed by traffic; certainly not because we like to spank children or because we are cruel, sadistic inflictors of pain!  Why, then, when we experience pain that we believe is inflicted by God, do we shake our fists at Him and cry, “Injustice!” when the truth in such situations is that we are merely disappointed we did not get our way.  The fact is we don’t like to deviate from our own expectations whether that means change or just a course correction from our plan, but it takes something drastic to overcome a paralyzing fear, and that is what I have proved to myself through my recovery from compulsive eating.  Now I am better energized to make other changes as well, and I am much more welcoming of that kind of growth, so less pain is needed to keep my attention.  What a relief!

 

 

 

 

From Proverbs 4, NIV:

I give you sound learning,
so do not forsake my teaching.

God’s teaching can always be trusted.  I wish I was as faithful to it and it is to me!

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Hebrews 11, NIV:

1 Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.

And without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him.

Hall of FaithHebrews 11 is often called “the Faith Chapter” because it begins by defining faith (verse 1), then goes on to list a veritable who’s who of the faithful.  It’s almost like a highlight reel of the Old Testament, a commendation of the ancients.  Still, there is a lesson that must not be mistaken: those commended for believing were not putting their hope in this world, but in the one to come.  Our faith is to be stacked on theirs, as we learn to hope for the same thing they knew, that we will live with the One who made us and Who will eventually call us home.  The Promised Land is not one flowing with milk and honey, but one with streets of gold where the Light of Life will be our lamp for all eternity.

39 These were all commended for their faith, yet none of them received what had been promised,40 since God had planned something better for us so that only together with us would they be made perfect.

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 31:

Despite all we can say, many who are real alcoholics are not going to believe they are in that class. By every form of self-deception and experimentation, they will try to prove themselves exceptions to the rule, therefore nonalcoholic.

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

† For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

‡ From “Our Invitation to You” out of Overeater’s Anonymous:  “The OA recovery program is patterned after that of Alcoholics Anonymous. We use AA’s Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions, changing only the words ‘alcohol’ and ‘alcoholic’ to ‘food’ and ‘compulsive overeater.’

