Abstinent Today:

I am a gratefully recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

I took a quick trip out of town with my precious bride, and that threw off my eating schedule a little bit, but I survived.  We were hoping to adopt a Boston Terrier to bring home as a companion to our own, but the pet rescue said we have to wait until our application clears.  That was disappointing but, God willing, we will have an additional dog by Tuesday.

This is my high school reunion weekend, so I’ve been busy preparing for and attending those functions.  Tonight was the main part and, like last night’s mixer at a local outdoor lounge, it was fun but a little uncomfortable.  The good news is I’m about the only man among us with a full head of hair left, and I have been getting an incredible number of compliments and inquiries about the physical transformation I have undergone.  The uncomfortable feelings of unfamiliarity with most of the attendees kept me humble.  I had a small tight-knight group of associates when I was in high school: the band – and very few of them showed up.

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“As we become aware of what our eating guidelines should be, we ask God for the willingness and the ability to live within them each day. We ask and we receive, first the willingness, and then the ability. We can count on this without fail.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 23

I think the reason we can count on this without fail is that we are finally practicing what we discover is God’s will for our lives, and God is a good trainer.  Most of us have spent so much time in rebellion that for us to finally seek and accept God’s will for us is an occasion for God to respond with favor and encouragement, loving us toward even greater revelations of His will for the rest of our lives and affairs..

 

 

 

From Proverbs 3, NIV:

in all your ways submit to him,
and he will make your paths straight.[a]

12 … the Lord disciplines those he loves,
as a father the son he delights in.[b]

I love the way God confirms with various writings the same message.  The discipline and training of God can be trusted, and He will faithfully instruct those who submit to Him.  Not only so, but He directs (or straightens) the path of those on His trek.  There is, also, the idea of submitting all our ways as opposed to just our addiction or our primary symptom of concern.  My whole life was in disorder; why would I reserve parts of it to my own care when I have proven how poorly I manage it all?

God, thank You for training me, even when it requires the kind of discipline that is uncomfortable at the time it is received.  Help me to be a better student, so that such intervention techniques are less often required.  You have my attention, Lord.  Show me Your way!

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Hebrews 10, NIV:

Then he said, “Here I am, I have come to do your will.” He sets aside the first to establish the second. 10 And by that will, we have been made holy through the sacrifice of the body of Jesus Christ once for all.

God has been working for our good and restoration to Him from before the beginning of time.  Even the law was a foreshadow of the way He would bring it about (verse 1).  By submitting to God’s will for him, Christ set an example for the rest of us to follow.  By sacrificing himself in preference for His children, He ransomed a world of self-serving humans.

May I honor Your sacrifice, Lord, by living according to Your will always and reflecting the grace and abundant life You have bestowed upon me!

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 43:

Once more: The alcoholic at certain times has no effective mental defense against the first drink. Except in a few cases, neither he nor any other human being can provide such a defense. His defense must come from a Higher Power.

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

† For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

‡ From “Our Invitation to You” out of Overeater’s Anonymous:  “The OA recovery program is patterned after that of Alcoholics Anonymous. We use AA’s Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions, changing only the words ‘alcohol’ and ‘alcoholic’ to ‘food’ and ‘compulsive overeater.’

