Abstinent Today:

I am a gratefully recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

It’s my last day off for a while, and I’ve been busy preparing.

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

Abstinence helps me stay in the present. I am better able to develop that relationship with my Higher Power, and that’s what OA is all about.

One moment at a time is the only way to live!  When I’m not worried about the future or regretting the past, I’ve got my whole being free to love, live and do as I discover God’s will for me.  Obeying God’s will for me is now priority one.  Ironically, I believe being abstinent is part of God’s will for me, and it gives me clearer insight to find more.

 

 

From Proverbs 26, NIV:

guilty dog11 As a dog returns to its vomit,
so fools repeat their folly.

It’s disgusting, but such a simile should be alarmingly repulsive.  Just as it is in a dog’s nature to re-eat its regurgitated food, it is human nature to keep making the same mistakes over and over again.  This insane cycle keeps going until something interferes.  Something bigger than hurt or habit must overcome and out-prioritize the human flesh nature.  I recommend a spiritual rebirth made possible by a real relationship with God through Jesus Christ and the grace He affords us.  Only such a renewal was able to stop the foolish repetition of failure, remorse, shame, worry, repeat.  Spiritual rebirth resulted in a reconstitution that brought about a transformation that no one can deny.  I want this for as many others as will accept it.  It seems to be what is missing from every hurting life I’ve crossed.

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Hebrews 4, NIV:

Therefore since it still remains for some to enter that rest, and since those who formerly had the good news proclaimed to them did not go in because of their disobedience, God again set a certain day, calling it “Today.” This he did when a long time later he spoke through David, as in the passage already quoted:

“Today, if you hear his voice,
do not harden your hearts.”[Psalm 95:7,8]

Paul is demonstrating that the rebellion of Israel after the Exodus was a foreshadowing of what is going on now: that those for whom God has orchestrated a promised land have rebelled against Him before their going in.  As such, they have sentenced themselves to perpetual wandering until their death.  This is why it is with great urgency that I eagerly share the Gospel of Christ, our Mediator and Overcomer of our sinful nature, that all might avail themselves of grace while it is still called “Today.”

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, “The European Drinker”:

As I go along I seem to get strength daily to be able to resist more easily. And when I get upset, cross-grained and out of tune with my fellow man I know that I am out of tune with God. Searching where I have been at fault, it is not hard to discover and get right again, for I have proven to myself and to many others who know me that God can keep a man sober if he will let Him.

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

† For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

