Today
I am a gratefully recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more day at a time.

I spent all morning catching up on much needed sleep and all afternoon doing errands. Now I am stuck on an overtime shift. Some changes are coming about at work and I may be getting a whole new set of supervisors and a new boss. That normally causes a lot of anxiety for me, but I am trusting that, no matter what happens, God will still be in charge, and He won’t allow me to get hurt without it being to my advantage somehow. With all that is going on with household repairs, financial burdens, school, family, and now work, I am amazed I am doing as well as I am. It just proves God is a big God, and He is able to do more than I ever ask or imagine.

Tuesday night I was asked what one thing I could do to show God’s acceptance of others around me. After thinking a bit, I decided I could abstain (just for the week) from criticizing others. I have almost bitten my tongue off a couple times, but I am working on making a week of it. There is a man praying for me, even as I pray for him. I am looking forward to seeing him next Tuesday and giving a good report with God’s help.

From Voices of Recovery

“We have what we need any time we are willing to let go of self-will and humbly ask for help.” The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 27

There is something wrong with me. I still sometimes feel as though I am supposed to do all I can and only then ask for God to take over. What I know, and continue to prove true, is that as I ask God for help with everything, humbly acknowledging that is is His hand at work even when mine are moving in ministry, more gets accomplished, less goes wrong, and He is glorified. When I go my way alone, I expose myself to headache, failure, inadequacy, and frustration. It is much better to cry out to God in humble reliance than in desperate frustration. He is able in all circumstances, but I have found He proves two things regardless: I am not God and He most certainly is!

From Proverbs 25

Do not exalt yourself in the king’s presence,and do not claim a place among his great men; it is better for him to say to you, “Come up here,”than for him to humiliate you before his nobles.

A double-dose of humility today! This ancient proverb was referenced in Christ’s own teaching. It makes logical sense that pushing oneself forward will eventually get one knocked down. The spiritual gift of humility, however, does not look like the timidity that masquerades as human humility. On the contrary, as Paul told Timothy, “For the Spirit God gave us does not make us timid, but gives us power, love and self-discipline. ” (2 Timothy 1:7) It is not self-defaming, or any such false pretense to which we are called, but to promoting the concerns and comfort of others above our own.
God help me to care for and meet the needs of those I can, and sacrifice my own comfort when it threatens that of others.

From my journey through the Bible, currently in Hebrews 3

13 But encourage one another daily, as long as it is called “Today,” so that none of you may be hardened by sin’s deceitfulness.

So what do you think is the real insurance against the brittleness sin’s lies brings: receiving encouragement, or habitually sharing it? Surely it is both, but it doesn’t work unless more than one of us is doing it. The whole community of believers is to be about encouraging others. It changes both hearts involved, and makes for an inviting community. If the Church were doing this consistently, few would resist being a part of such a body.
I like the way the Pope addressed this recently when he visited a slum in Rio deJaneiro: “The culture of selfishness and individualism that often prevails in our society is not what builds up and leads to a more habitable world…”
(Credit: ABC News)

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, “The Backslider”

My friends came to my aid. They tried to help me, but I didn’t want help. I was ashamed and preferred not to see them come around. And they knew that as long as I didn’t want to quit, as long as I preferred my own will instead of God’s will, the remedy simply could not be applied. It is a striking thought that God never forces anyone to do His will, that His help is ever available but has to be sought in all earnestness and humility.

