Abstinent Today:

I am a gratefully recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more day at a time.

Yesterday, I got up early to drop my precious bride’s car off for service and drive her to work.  I got out the door without any more prayer than a thanks for breakfast, and it showed in my attitude out the door.  In the ten short miles it takes to get to my wife’s office, I managed to do harm both to my wife and myself, barking about my way and my own understanding.  I don’t know why I allow morning moments to go by without doing what I know must be done, even as often as I, and others around me, suffer the consequences.

I thought I might get some rest waiting for the automotive service, so I raced home and went back to bed, but the car was ready in minutes rather than hours, so it was a short nap.  When I got home from my gym workout, which was next on my schedule, there were trucks in my driveway hoisting shingles onto my roof.  Apparently my roofer, from whom I haven’t heard in a couple weeks, is finally ready to get started on my house.  The rest of the day got whisked away from me, and ended up with me locked out of my car standing in the dark, waiting for someone to come to my rescue with a spare key to my truck.  I did begin preparation for work in a prison ministry last night.  This is a new step for me and I am looking forward to being an instrument of God’s will in such an effort.

Things do not have to go my way in order for me to be happy.  I have to remember that, the happiest, most fulfilled moments come when nothing is going my way, but God’s way makes itself known instead.  I release my will, wish and way and accept God’s will for me.  I will walk His way, and do as he wishes.  “I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live but Christ lives in me.  The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God who loved me and gave Himself up for me.” (Galatians 2:20)

Life is not only about food choices!  I have to deny myself all my compulsive (flesh-driven) impulses, and check in with my Higher Power to see what the Spirit would have me do, then do it.

 

I will not be able to write more today.  God bless!

