Abstinent Today:

I am a gratefully recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

As much as it troubles me to get up so soon after going to sleep, I do enjoy going to church!  I wish I could have stayed there a little longer today for fellowship, but I had to cut out as soon as the “amen” was said so I could get to work on time.  I had to cut out the after meeting fellowship at an OA meeting yesterday too.  Soon I’ll get to catch up with my friends. …I hope.

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Often we caused ourselves problems because we didn’t realize that there were some kinds of eating we could handle comfortably and some kinds we couldn’t.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 21

This is an interesting statement for me.  It references limitations on our ability and a definition of our comfort.  When I think of comfort, I think of ease, the cushy, stress-free kind like in the recliner commercials.  It occurs to me that perhaps I am not supposed to be in comfort at all times.  Perhaps there are times and seasons for everything like Ecclesiastes 3 says.  If I toil and sweat, how much sweeter will my rest be?  Likewise, the limitations on the foods I can tolerate point me toward the ones that better suit me, and are more in keeping with my Creator’s will, if I am willing to listen and respond.  My problem has always been that I never cared what was recommended as “best” for me because I either didn’t believe I was worthy of the best, or what I wanted in the short-term was more important than the far distant promises of those making the recommendations.  Recognizing the foods and behaviors that are problematic for me has opened a warehouse of proper foods and eating habits that I have never tried before.  Some were not immediately palatable, or should I say comfortable to the palette, but have grown on me over time.  Others were just too time consuming or required too much preparation, forethought, or some other resource I either wasn’t willing to sacrifice or didn’t think I was worth.  I had to accept God’s value of me and act as if I really was that valuable, spending the precious resource of time to make proper meals and eat them on a proper schedule.  One can easily see how a brain so occupied with the nonsensical arguments I was using to justify my behavior is not capable of making a rational decision in the face of temptation.  No wonder I had problems!  I was causing them myself!

 

 

From Proverbs 21, NIV:

16 Whoever strays from the path of prudence
comes to rest in the company of the dead.

As I was saying before, my feet never even crossed the path of prudence when I was in my disease, much less remain true to it.  Everything I did was about me – how I felt or what I deserved.  Never did I consider best interest or caring for the temple God created to be the dwelling of His Spirit.  The end result of living like that is no mystery.  We don’t have to look far to find people with one foot in the grave and the other getting greased up with trans fat.  The food spur of this truth is only one rendition of the self-service that precludes our walk on the path of prudence.  Indulgence seems, by its very nature, at odds with wisdom, here termed prudence.

Thank You, God, for holding my hand and keeping me on Your path.  May I never stray!

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Hebrews 1, NIV:

The Son is the radiance of God’s glory and the exact representation of his being, sustaining all things by his powerful word.

Jesus told His disciples if they had seen Him they had seen the Father (John 14:9).  As the Son transmits the glory of the Father, so we can reflect the Light of Christ around us, as we are constantly being transformed into His likeness in ever increasing measure (2 Corinthians 3:18).

God, may I reflect Your Light, not for my glory, but for Yours.

 

From The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, Step Seven:

Our approach to step seven, then, might begin with a prayer for genuine humility. Having said this prayer, we can proceed with the rest of step seven, trusting that our Higher Power will grant us the gift of humility to a greater and greater degree, one day at a time, as we continue to let go of our old values and practice the principles of the twelve steps.

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

† For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

