Abstinent Today:

I am a gratefully recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“If we are to reach an informed decision, the group will need to take into account everybody’s needs and ideas. For this reason, OA groups give all viewpoints a full hearing—even minority viewpoints.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 120

What a great concept this is to practice in my personal affairs!  When I began to do this, “You may be right,” and accompany it with the encouragement I learned in the meetings, “Thanks for sharing, Bob!” I found that people were a lot more willing to share with me.  An added benefit was those who are heard are more likely to listen, but that is a self-serving motive.  (Still, it’s true.)

 

 

 

From Proverbs 11, NIV:

30 The fruit of the righteous is a tree of life,
and the one who is wise saves lives.

Yesterday I read that the mouth of the righteous is a fountain of life.  Today the fruit of the righteous is a tree of life.  There is no denying that the product of proper alignment with God is abundant life.  I want both things: to be aligned in relationship with God and to be a tree and fountain of life, springing up so others can share the life I am experiencing and will enjoy for eternity.  To share eternal life is even better than to share the temporal kind, no matter how abundant it may be.

Lord, continue refining me into Your reflector so that, by my life, people may see the Light of Life.

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in 1 Timothy 6, NIV:

10 For the love of money is a root of all kinds of evil. Some people, eager for money, have wandered from the faith and pierced themselves with many griefs.

11 But you, man of God, flee from all this, and pursue righteousness, godliness, faith, love, endurance and gentleness.

The object of our pursuit will determine whether we are blessed or pierced.  It is interesting to me to see the wording of the accusation of the greedy.  It is they who have pierced themselves with grief.  It reminds me of Proverbs 19:3, “A person’s own folly leads to their ruin, yet their heart rages against the Lord.”  Whose fault is it when I pray for a healthy body but continue to indulge all my food fantasies and lounge about rather than do what I know is necessary to build and maintain a healthy body?  Mine!

That reminds me of another point to this excerpt: the man of God is instructed to move!  He is to move away from the corrupt desires and actively chase after those Godly traits listed, one of which is righteousness, the one with the bad rap because of its faulty cousin, “self-righteousness.”  At no point is Timothy instructed to sit back, relax, and let righteousness overtake him, although we all know that righteousness comes from God and not by the works of man.  It still must be pursued, just as Wisdom, though given by God, must be sought diligently as for treasure.

I have been guilty of spiritual sloth in years gone by, and I still have a tendency to drift into a dangerous slumber that gives Satan a foothold.

God, keep me spiritually awake and fully alive, by the power of Your Spirit and in the name of Jesus Christ.

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, “Stars Don’t Fall”:

Every day, I feel a little bit more useful, more happy and more free. Life, including some ups and downs, is a lot of fun. I am a part of A.A. which is a way of life. If I had not become an active alcoholic and joined A.A., I might never have found my own identity or become a part of anything.

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

† For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

‡ From “Our Invitation to You” out of Overeater’s Anonymous:  “The OA recovery program is patterned after that of Alcoholics Anonymous. We use AA’s Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions, changing only the words ‘alcohol’ and ‘alcoholic’ to ‘food’ and ‘compulsive overeater.’

