Abstinent Today:

I am a gratefully recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

My apologies, but I spent most of yesterday neglecting family for homework and now have more to do than I can possibly get done.  This will have to be brief.

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Being a part of the group is essential to recovery from our disease of isolation. It means supporting and being supported by our fellow OA members.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 205

 

 

From Proverbs 9, NIV:

10 The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom,
and knowledge of the Holy One is understanding.

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in 1 Timothy 4, NIV:

For physical training is of some value, but godliness has value for all things, holding promise for both the present life and the life to come.

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 20:

Our very lives, as ex-problem drinkers, depend upon our constant thought of others and how we may help meet their needs.

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

† For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

‡ From “Our Invitation to You” out of Overeater’s Anonymous:  “The OA recovery program is patterned after that of Alcoholics Anonymous. We use AA’s Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions, changing only the words ‘alcohol’ and ‘alcoholic’ to ‘food’ and ‘compulsive overeater.’

