Abstinent Today:

I am a gratefully recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

I heard something today that I will try to render as it was presented to me, though I do not know its original source:

When we share our burdens,

They are broken in half;

When we share our joys,

They are multiplied.

It is my hope that my use of the Recovery Tool of writing is somehow multiplying joy to others.  I would like to invite any who read these lines to respond and let me know if that is so.  Those who would rather not post a comment on the blog are always welcome to respond privately by clicking “contact me” in the upper tab or right margin of this blog.

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“You won’t know that you have lived until you have lived this way.” — Beyond Our Wildest Dreams, p. 28

Four years ago, no amount of daydreaming could have caught me imagining of the way I feel, look and live today.  Even my most optimistic weight loss goal, a leftover from all my days of yo-yo dieting, was 240, because I simply couldn’t imagine weighing less than that.  That goal whizzed by as God took over my life, my eating, and my weight, and I found that I could be a healthy body weight if I continued to stay out of His way by living and eating according to His will as it was revealed to me.

I didn’t expect to let go of so many controlling behaviors either.  I’m not claiming perfection here (or anywhere else) but my sanity increased as my need to meddle in everything decreased.

 

 

From Proverbs 6, NIV:

How long will you lie there, you sluggard?
When will you get up from your sleep?
10 A little sleep, a little slumber,
a little folding of the hands to rest—
11 and poverty will come on you like a thief
and scarcity like an armed man.

It’s hard to sit here behind my laptop after reading that, and I read it each month at least twice, because the same statement is made in Proverbs 24:33-34.  I wonder sometimes where the line is between rest and sloth and whether I have crossed it. One look around my house would answer that question.

Lord, help me be a better steward of Your blessing.

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in 1 Timothy 3, NIV:

16 Beyond all question, the mystery from which true godliness springs is great:

He appeared in the flesh,
was vindicated by the Spirit,[d]
was seen by angels,
was preached among the nations,
was believed on in the world,
was taken up in glory.

I was pulling up runaway vines in my yard recently and it occurred to me that when I break the tendrils and strip off leaves, I am merely molesting the progress of the vine.  To really get it up I have to pull the vine all the way to its source of life, its root.  Even if I don’t get the whole vine, if I get the root, the rest will die.  I thought of those broken connections even as I attempted to gather the offending vines in their entirety.  I considered the mystery of Christ – who He is and who I am in Him.  Without that constant vital connection I am a dead stick, but with it and because of Him, I am made alive, reborn and renewed constantly with the life-sustaining sap of His Spirit.

Lord Jesus, keep me abiding in You, the True Vine, and breathe into me Your Spirit of Life.

 

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 60:

The point is, that we are willing to grow along spiritual lines. The principles we have set down are guides to progress. We claim spiritual progress rather than spiritual perfection.

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

† For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

 

