Abstinent Today:

I am a gratefully recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

When I say the (serenity) prayer, I am asking for the willingness to accept everything and the courage to change only myself. Only with the acceptance of this simple fact comes the serenity I seek.

Except for the circumstances of need which we can meet, I find this to be true.  I have to keep in mind that, though my sanity comes in recognizing the futility of desiring to change everything and everyone, my purpose only comes in capitalizing the opportunities God has orchestrated for me to help others.  “For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.”  (Ephesians 2:10)  It takes wisdom, also called discernment, which God gives to any who asks, to be able to recognize inconvenience as opportunity.  It takes serenity along with patience and loving kindness to be able to adjust our plan and will to accommodate such openings.  And it takes courage to step outside our own expectations to deliver to a fellow human in their occasion of need.  To miss out on these ministry moments is to incarcerate myself back in that old dungeon of isolation which imprisoned me from fulfilling my purpose in the first place.

 

 

 

From Proverbs 5, NIV:

23 For lack of discipline they will die,
    led astray by their own great folly.

I hurt for the deluded self-indulgent.  I wish there were more opportunity for me to reach into such lives and show them grace.  The problem is most are numb to their own need.  Pain is the sensitivity to the fact that something is amiss, and most of us, as this recovering compulsive overeater can attest, have become proficient in masking our pain with more self-indulgence until oblivion to truth is further complicated by the whirlwind of emotional turbulence stacked on physiological imbalance.  The whole tilt-a-whirl is set about by the lack of discipline that God can help establish through a little willingness and humble reliance on Him.

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in 1 Timothy 2, NIV:

For there is one God and one mediator between God and mankind, the man Christ Jesus, who gave himself as a ransom for all people.

What an amazing miracle God accomplished in presenting Himself to the world in human form in the life of Jesus Christ!  Who else could mediate between Heaven and Earth except One who was of both – who was both fully God and fully man?  In this passage is also a contradiction to the many voices in the head of those darkened by spiritual disease.  The lie says we are without value; the Truth says we are worth God leaving Heaven and dying to rescue.  How worthless can we be if the Creator of the universe found us worth dying for?  I choose to accept God’s value of me rather than mine, just like I choose to do God’s will for me rather than mine. 

The verses that precede this excerpt demonstrate that the will of God is that all would come to a saving knowledge of His grace (v.4).  There is also a call to intercessory prayer (v.1), a ministry opportunity on which I really must spend more of my time and energy.

 

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, pages 52 and 53:

We agnostics and atheists were sticking to the idea that self-sufficiency would solve our problems. When others showed us that “God-sufficiency” worked with them, we began to feel like those who had insisted the Wrights would never fly.

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

† For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

