Abstinent Today:

I am a gratefully recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

I am watching God prove Himself even while I am yet learning to fully trust Him.   It’s strange to think that we don’t trust someone as trustworthy as God, but the truth is that’s exactly what anxiety is, some shadowy belief that something will happen that is somehow either out of God’s control or outside His perfect will.  While still in the process of planning my retirement in eight months, wondering how I will manage to go to school full time without at least a part-time job to supplement my retirement savings, God sent a friend to me who offered me a job as soon as I’m ready to take it on.  “No rush,” he said, “just whenever you’re ready and want it.”  Now that’s providence!  I know that, whether it is that job or something else, God is capable of orchestrating my circumstances to meet my needs, and He is faithful.  He will never abandon me.  Why do I ever even consider worrying?

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“…Step Seven calls for us to adopt an attitude of humility.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 59

Just because I have done a step doesn’t mean it’s done.  I continue to do all the steps daily, and one step that renders me humble more than the others is Step Eight.  When I consider the harms I have done to people on account of my insensitive selfishness, it tears down any pride I might have left.  Many times, I have recalled the hurts I have dealt others or the pains of my past, linked each to a selfish expression on my own part, and wept in prayer, begging for relief from the defective character.

 

 

 

From Proverbs 3, NIV:

Trust in the Lord with all your heart
and lean not on your own understanding;
in all your ways submit to him,
and he will make your paths straight.[a]

What are the chances today’s proverb would have a call to completely trust in God?  It’s like someone is trying to tell me (us) something!

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in 2 Thessalonians 3, NIV:

But the Lord is faithful, and he will strengthen you and protect you from the evil one. 

May the Lord direct your hearts into God’s love and Christ’s perseverance.

It is amazing how the Scriptures today correlate to what was on my heart.  I have nothing to add to that except, Amen!

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 68:

Perhaps there is a better way—we think so. For we are now on a different basis of trusting and relying upon God. We trust infinite God rather than our finite selves.

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

† For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

