Abstinent Today:

I am a gratefully recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“…we learned we could ‘act as if.’” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 14

I have learned that, an attitude (A) is made of three things: thoughts (T), feelings (F) and behaviors (B).

(T ∙ F ∙ B = A)  To change an entire attitude, one must change at least one of the three factors.  Most of us are pretty set in our ways as far as thoughts are concerned, and feelings are what got us here in the first place, so it makes sense to just start changing behaviors until one or both of the others finally begin to swing with them.  Our attitude changes and we become teachable when we begin to realize that this really works.  It all begins when we recognize that our feelings do not have to steer our ship and our thinking might not be as right as we think it is.

 

 

 

From Proverbs 26, NIV:

18 Like a maniac shooting

flaming arrows of death

19 is one who deceives their neighbor

and says, “I was only joking!”

I have in my mind that guy in the Lethal Weapon movie with the head-to-toe armor and gas powered flame thrower.  Maybe you know the maniac in my mind.  The trouble is, with these verses comparing that guy to the joker, I suddenly see my own face behind the bullet-proof mask.  How many times I have belittled others or exalted myself with the use of hurtful humor!  It’s a shame.  Now that I am in recovery, I no longer need to step on the necks of those around me to make myself feel superior.  My Higher Power gives me security enough not to need the boost, my feelings have taken a back seat anyway, and I am going about seeking opportunities to help people rather than crush their larynx with my boot.  What I mean is this prankster trait has outlived its usefulness and, as long as I remain in fit spiritual condition, I have a daily reprieve from it like I do my compulsive eating.

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Colossians 3, NIV:

2 Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things.

5 Put to death, therefore, whatever belongs to your earthly nature: sexual immorality, impurity, lust, evil desires and greed, which is idolatry.

12 Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience.

15 Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, since as members of one body you were called to peace. And be thankful.

This chapter addresses the revolutionary new attitude we are called toward when we die to self and take on Christ Jesus.  Verse 2 addresses the thoughts (T), 5 the behaviors (B), 12 the feelings (F), and 15 shows the overall attitude (A) change that results in peace and gratitude.

Colossians 3:12 in posted on the wall of my dressing area, along with several other helpful Bible verses, and I have given it special consideration lately.  It occurs to me that clothing is not our natural skin, it is not part of us, but we cover ourselves with fabrics that we select.  I was reading the characteristics I am to clothe myself with according to that verse and wondering when God would wrap me in some of them, and it occurred to me that the action part of that sentence is “clothe yourselves.”  It isn’t that I am waiting for my skin to change to that color, texture and pattern, but that I would add these things over what I am so that I would be covered in them to the exclusion of what would naturally appear.  It is just like when I put on a robe, no one can see my nakedness because I am covered with a robe.  If I will clothe myself with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience, no one will ever see my naked selfishness.  Each of those is a great relief to the onlooker!

God, I have offered myself to You to rebuild me and use me as You will.  Please help me contribute to the reconstruction effort by wrapping myself in the behaviors I already know are in step with Your will.  You can change my attitude, even while I work on its factors from my end.  Help me to rely wholly on You, but to get busy being what I know You want me to be also.

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 27:

They appear to be in the nature of huge emotional displacements and rearrangements. Ideas, emotions, and attitudes which were once the guiding forces of the lives of these men are suddenly cast to one side, and a completely new set of conceptions and motives begin to dominate them.

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

† For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

