Abstinent Today:

I am a gratefully recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

I am very excited!  God is always good, but He was especially good to and with me Wednesday when I took my Algebra test.  We got our scores back today and mine with God’s intervention was 100%, for a perfect class average, and we are now past the half-way point.  I am both encouraged and humbled, because I am realizing that I really can do this college thing, and also because I am learning that it doesn’t come easy.  My memory used to work much more efficiently when I was young than it does now, and I notice the frailties.  God is faithful though, and He orchestrates things in favor of recall when I ask Him to.  Whoopee, God!  (or in more religious vernacular: Halleluiah!)

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“What all of us have in common is that our bodies and minds seem to send us signals about food which are quite different from those the normal eaters receive.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 2

For some reason I don’t picture any of us in a huddle all chanting on three, “Go, food-addicts!” but we do have something in common and it does group us together so that we can fight together and help each other and work toward recovery together, all as individual team members, but all on the same team striving toward the same goal.  I won’t be the world’s kind of normal when it comes to food and eating, so it is important for me to fellowship with people who share my normal – living in the steps of recovery from compulsive eating.  We are part of a much larger community of all those living the Twelve Steps of recovery, and an even larger community of those who have identified a spiritual connection with God as being key to their very existence and who live according to that realization.

 

 

From Proverbs 24, NIV:

1 Do not envy the wicked,

do not desire their company;

2 for their hearts plot violence,

and their lips talk about making trouble.

God’s word is filled with exhortations to keep good company, to cheer and encourage one another, to help each other; but also to avoid the corrosive associations which deteriorate our souls.  “Bad company corrupts good character.” (1 Corinthians 15:33 From the Greek poet Menander)

On the heels of considering the benefits of finding like-minded fellows with whom to congregate, it is only fitting that one would acknowledge that there are others whose company should repel us.  This does not contradict our mandate to reach out to those suffering in their spiritual malady, but it does caution us to keep our emotional distance and not to envy them in their self-indulgent stupor.

Lord, equip me to be in the world but not of it, rescuing the perishing where I can and keeping my hands free of those determined to fall.  I recognize Your heartache over their loss is even greater than mine, and I mourn with You for every single soul who fails to recognize You.  As long as it is in Your will, make me part of their rescue, and keep me from nudging anyone over their edge.

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Colossians 1, NIV:

15 The Son is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn over all creation. 16 For in him all things were created: things in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or powers or rulers or authorities; all things have been created through him and for him.

28 He is the one we proclaim, admonishing and teaching everyone with all wisdom, so that we may present everyone fully mature in Christ.

There is a purpose in our inclusion in Jesus Christ: maturity in Christ.  He came first and by Him all were made so that we, through Him, might once again find fellowship with God.  Often people confuse inclusion with maturity and stop there, never growing past the realization that they are a child of God.  Imagine if we all stayed in the nursery having discovered our belly buttons and sharing in common our one common trait, but we never decided to stand or walk or share or love or communicate!  What God wants by introducing us to our childhood in Him is not just many children, but growing, thriving, multiplying, fruitful, adult children – the kind with whom He can enjoy an eternal relationship.   My family didn’t have children so they could have babies.  There was an understanding that these babies would grow and become capable, contributing adults, who would, themselves (God willing) have their own families who would continue the pattern.  The family of God is nothing different.  There is an evangelistic duty to help birth new babies, but there is an equally important duty of each of us former babies to grow and to reach ever nearer to the One who conceived us.

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 90:

When you discover a prospect for Alcoholics Anonymous, find out all you can about him. If he does not want to stop drinking, don’t waste time trying to persuade him. You may spoil a later opportunity. This advice is given for his family also. They should be patient, realizing they are dealing with a sick person.

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

† For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

‡ From “Our Invitation to You” out of Overeater’s Anonymous:  “The OA recovery program is patterned after that of Alcoholics Anonymous. We use AA’s Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions, changing only the words ‘alcohol’ and ‘alcoholic’ to ‘food’ and ‘compulsive overeater.’

