Abstinent Today:

I am a gratefully recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

I took my Algebra test this morning and, while I am fairly certain I missed a couple questions, I am equally sure I did well.  God is faithful!

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“I look at my past in order to understand myself and in order to let the past go.” — For Today, p. 235

The truth about past hurts is we can’t truly let them go until we acknowledge them.  When I brush hurts under the rug, they become an annoying lump that I just can’t identify, but I know that my rug is lumpy.  That’s the beauty of the investigative steps that help us come to grips with the resentments and harms of our past so we can hang them over the ledge of forgiveness and let them fall.  The amends process helps us to clean our hands of them once and for all.

 

 

From Proverbs 19, NIV:

20 Listen to advice and accept discipline,

and at the end you will be counted among the wise.

Remaining teachable and avoiding resentments toward those who would help me identify or make corrections is critical to reaching my goal of becoming wise.  I have got to learn to accept and work through criticism.  It is my friend, not my enemy!

God, please help me learn to accept criticism as a stepping stone to Your will for me.  Keep my ears attentive and my mind and heart open to learn what I can of myself so that I can place the broken parts under Your reconstructive care.

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Ephesians 6, NIV:

10 Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. 11 Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. 12 For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.

This passage gives perspective that should feed my patience with mankind.  When I consider that all around me is merely the mask covering a spiritual war, and that the heavenly realms are watching to see how I fare with the cleverly laid traps and distractions of evil, it stirs me to take a more valiant stand.  When I don’t see the harm in compromise, the enemy has done his job.  When I kick my feet up for some “me-time” rather than bend my knee in reverence of God and preference for others I’ve surrendered the moment to the other side.  The noise of battle is the sound of commerce vying for my resources, entertainment calling my attention from prayer and service, and every agent of Satan whispering as he has from the beginning, “Ssssurely He didn’t mean what He said.  Ssssurely He wouldn’t deny you this one thing.”

My Lord and my God, help me stand watch against the dark forces of this world as long as You decide I should remain in it.  Help me to be less about what I see and hear and more about what You reveal is my part and purpose amid the clatter of this temporary earth.

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, pages 6364:

Next we launched out on a course of vigorous action, the first step of which is a personal housecleaning, which many of us had never attempted. Though our decision was vital and crucial step, it could have little permanent effect unless at once followed by a strenuous effort to face, and to be rid of, the things in ourselves which had been blocking us.

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

† For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

