Abstinent Today:

I am a gratefully recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

In the Our Daily Bread meditation this morning, I heard a great verse for battling unhealthy temptation.  It was Psalm 119:37 NIV, “Turn my eyes away from worthless things; preserve my life according to your word.

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

This is a God-given program, and my Higher Power has chosen me to experience—to live in—Sacred Awe!

So wonderful is my God that I will lie back in wonder!

So awesome is my God that I will stand in awe!

So amazing is my God that I sit in amazement!

He has done great things for me too marvelous to comprehend.  He continues to do an unimaginable work in me that, were I to dream a thousand dreams, I could not picture.  His plans for me I could not conceive and where He is taking me I could not perceive.  This I know and I believe: He will not fail to finish what He has begun and He is working all things for my good!  With holy honor, dumbstruck amazement, wonderful peace, contented trust, I will live with and for my God in sacred awe!

 

 

From Proverbs 13, NIV:

10 Where there is strife, there is pride,

but wisdom is found in those who take advice.

It is interesting to me that, here, Wisdom stands opposite Pride, when her customary opponent is Folly.  It is reasonable to deduct that Pride is a pawn of Folly and that strife is the natural product of their work.  The term “strife” could define the dull soreness and stale quiet that has settled over my house in recent days in the aftermath of so many heated interpersonal battles.  The members of my family go about as though battle-worn, neither laughing nor playing, inconspicuously avoiding togetherness, and retreating each one to the comfort of solitude.  “Where there is strife, there is pride.”  Perhaps the pride is mine.  The Big Book of Alcoholics Anonymous says that, regarding reconstruction, “We must take the lead.” (p. 66)   The obstacle of healing is Pride, the pawn of Folly, the agent of Satan who seeks to kill, steal and destroy.  To forgive and live abundantly is Christ!

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Galatians 6, NIV:

7 Do not be deceived: God cannot be mocked. A man reaps what he sows. 8 Whoever sows to please their flesh, from the flesh will reap destruction; whoever sows to please the Spirit, from the Spirit will reap eternal life. 9 Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.

Sowing and reaping – “What comes around, goes around.”  This is a much deeper truth than just believing that my karma ran over my dogma.  This seems to be a foundational law of creation – of earth and spirit.  A good crop requires singleness of purpose and power.  I cannot sow half weeds and half grain and expect an abundant harvest.  My outcome, though multiplied by the One who does such things, will be related to my input.  Verse 9 tells me that, to our singleness we must add persistence.  A recovering compulsive eater is a good physical example of this principle that applies to the physical, mental and spiritual aspects of life.  To give up is to lose all that I have gained and begin the battle again.  Diligence is required of the faithful steward, regardless of the nature or substance of the trust.

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, “He Sold Himself Short”:

Above all, I have gained the greatest thing accorded to any man, the love and understanding of a gracious God, who has lifted me from the alcoholic scrap-heap to a position of trust where I have been able to reap the rich rewards that come from showing a little love for others and from serving them as I can.

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

† For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

