Abstinent Today:

I am a gratefully recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

Today is a “n0-comment” day.

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

Commitment means I plan ahead for the right foods at the right times and do the spiritual work that allows me to access my Higher Power. Consistency means I recommit to abstinence each day—no excuses.

 

 

From Proverbs 7, NIV:

2 Keep my commands and you will live;

guard my teachings as the apple of your eye.

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Galatians 1, NIV:

10 Am I now trying to win the approval of human beings, or of God? Or am I trying to please people? If I were still trying to please people, I would not be a servant of Christ.

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, “Forward to the First Edition:

No words can tell of the loneliness and despair I found in that bitter morass of self-pity. Quicksand stretched around me in all directions.

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

† For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

