Abstinent Today:

I am a gratefully recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“We then find that, to deal with our inner turmoil, we have to have a new way of thinking, of acting on life rather than reacting to it…” — Overeaters Anonymous, Second Edition, pp. 2-3

One of my favorites.  It speaks for itself.

 

 

From Proverbs 6, NIV:

25 Do not lust in your heart after her beauty

or let her captivate you with her eyes.

I have begun to practice this principle on my way to work, only it is fishing boats that catch my eye.  I haven’t the resources for such a thing as these that have lately tugged at my attention, and my truck hasn’t the horsepower to pull such out of the water if I did!  I catch myself glancing at the dealer’s lot, and immediately remind myself that those are not for me.  They are someone else’s wife, they are forbidden pastry, they are simply not mine.  To want them is to steal them in my heart, so I give them up.  This proverb is about lust of the flesh, but I contend that the mind is reigned in the same way whether the object of our lust is sexual, material, or edible.

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in 2 Corinthians 13, NIV:

5 Examine yourselves to see whether you are in the faith; test yourselves. Do you not realize that Christ Jesus is in you—unless, of course, you fail the test?

Self-examination is a critical part of spiritual fitness.  One of the ways I do this is to pray Psalm 138:23-24, which reads, “Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts.  See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.”  Today, I am saved, but only as one escaping through the flames.  I am in the faith, but I am surrounded by thorns, hard-pressed on every side.  Now is the kind of time when God’s salvation seems at its greatest – when I am all out of any of my own strength.

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, “Forward to the First Edition:

Many do not comprehend that the alcoholic is a very sick person. And besides, we are sure that our way of living has its advantages for all.

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

† For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

‡ From “Our Invitation to You” out of Overeater’s Anonymous:  “The OA recovery program is patterned after that of Alcoholics Anonymous. We use AA’s Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions, changing only the words ‘alcohol’ and ‘alcoholic’ to ‘food’ and ‘compulsive overeater.’

 

