Abstinent Today:

I am a gratefully recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

I have precious little time for reading, as you might have noticed by my one-chapter-a-day approach to reading through the Bible.  I have, nonetheless, taken to reading the publication of World Vision, available for free reading at www.WorldVisionMagazine.org.  This little periodical is heart-wrenchingly moving, and has kindled a fire in me that was lit a couple years ago when I read The Hole in Our Gospel by World Vision’s CEO, Richard Stearns.  I don’t know exactly how yet, but I simply MUST do something more for the underprivileged of the world.  I have been self-indulgent too long!  My scope of service may start primarily with the compulsive overeater at my elbow, but it can’t stop there.  There are far too many suffering and needy people in the world to ignore!

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“This program is not a once-in-a-while thing. It is an everyday commitment. The abstinence is for the fat downstairs and the Twelve Steps are for the fat upstairs—in the head.” — Overeaters Anonymous, First Edition, p.150

My disease takes no holidays, and I must not either.  Weekends like this, although this is no weekend for me at all since I am working through the holiday, require preparation – a plan and the resources to carry it out.  My homemade soup is prepared and canned and my sandwich wraps are packaged and waiting.  No circus treats or ballpark meats for me, thank God!

I can’t let my preparation take a day off when the calendar doesn’t give me warning either.  The crying fat baby in my head doesn’t always whine on schedule.  The habit of abstinence becomes both the diligent effort and the gift at the same time.  It feeds off the success of itself, and God continues to spin it, like His universe, in order according to His will, when I offer myself to Him and allow abstinence to be my way.

 

 

From Proverbs 25, NIV:

4 Remove the dross from the silver,

and a silversmith can produce a vessel

This is the postulate that makes the proverb that follows it make sense, but instead of skipping over it I was drawn to this part today.  I am always grateful for the vessel into which God is making me.  He is the only One I know who is able to make something honorable out of a broken old chamber-pot like I was.  If He wants me as His wine chalice, that is His choice, and I will submit to that.  I am also content if He decides I should be used for something less, but Scripture tells me that if I am faithful to cleanse myself from the impure things, He is faithful to set me apart for His nobler purposes.  (2 Timothy 2:20-21)

I am counting on this to be true in my ministry to my fellow humans, but I am proving it true in my physical body.  As I remove the filth from the mixture that is me, I give the Master good material with which to work.  His craftsmanship is revealed in the results, and I am grateful!

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in 2 Corinthians 2, NIV:

15 For we are to God the pleasing aroma of Christ among those who are being saved and those who are perishing.

Okay, being a censer is fine with me too, as long as I am of value in my service and not doing harm to His reputation, as it has been my trend to be.  Religious assault with a Bible as a weapon saves no one, and I am committed to being something different.  The stench I must have given in God’s audience chamber is inexcusable, except that the grace of God in Christ Jesus covers all sin.

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 77:

Our real purpose is to fit ourselves to be of maximum service to God and the people about us.

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

† For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

