Today
I am a gratefully recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God, one more day at a time.

Voices Of Recovery:
The whole entry was too good to miss. I hope those who have the book read it in its entirety. Besides, I’m writing this on my mobile device which does not allow copying from the Kindle application.

Proverbs 24:32 NIV 1984

“I applied my heart to what I observed and learned a lesson from what I saw”

This is instructive for me. The young prince (or king) Solomon is not allowing his leisure to stop him from meditating and learning from the things he sees around him. Wisdom doesn’t take a holiday, and neither should I from it.

2 Corinthians 1:3-4 NIV 1984

[3] Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, [4] who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God.

These verses answer the question, “why?” we all ask when in despair. We suffer to receive the comfort of God, which we will share with others later on. How can I comfort one in trouble unless by my experience I can testify that God is faithful to deliver us through it? How can I say, “It will be okay,” if I never live through a struggle? But God has brought me through eating disorder, despair, suicidal thinking, religious bigotry, miscarriage, divorce, trauma, and all manner of difficulty, and He has delivered me so I can rescue the perishing with the Good News that giving one’s life to God makes everything better, and trusting Him with my life decisions frees me to live the abundant life He intended, empowered by His divine Holy Spirit. Living on this side of the remedy made the problems worth living through!

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, “The Professor and the Paradox”

“When we cannot afford to give away what we have received so freely in A.A., we had better get ready for our next “drunk.” It will happen every time. We’ve got to continue to give it away in order to keep it.”

