Abstinent Today:

I am a gratefully recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

I had a busy day.  My service was needed at a special event today, so I missed my regular Saturday meeting and was pushed around the rest of the day by needs of the household and the return of the serviceman who is repairing my walls.  He’ll be back again before it’s over, but I like this guy.  He seems trustworthy and competent – good traits for a handyman.  I got many chores done while I was (not too closely) supervising my visitor’s work, even though I did not get to my devotional reading and writing until later.

Yesterday was a busy day too.  I had counted on writing during some breaks at work, but there were none!  I was slammed all day.  Maybe there is a day of rest in my future.

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Believe that you can be abstinent. You will be. Believe that you can have sanity, peace of mind, and freedom to live the life you want. You will have them. Believe that you will recover. You will.” — For Today, p. 354

I don’t know if believing alone is a guarantee of success, but I do know that disbelief is guaranteed to cause failure.  The disappointments I have experienced could make it easy for me to refuse to believe, trust or hope, but I cannot receive what I do not accept, so opening myself up to belief is a lot like willingness to let go of the resentments that hold my faith hostage.  I don’t remember ever climbing to the top of an obstacle eagerly anticipating the leap of faith that was waiting for me at the top.  Quite the contrary has happened to me.  Each big obstacle has been preceded with a smaller one that readied me for the tougher one, so that I was always conditioned, always prepared to stretch just a little bit farther than last time.  Doubt creeps in when I overestimate the obstacles or underestimate my Higher Power.  If I’m spiritually fit, I will be content with whatever He designs, and that means walking toward him whether the next step finds me flying, falling, or standing on level ground.  I’m ready for whatever comes!

Heavenly Father, I believe that You are doing a good work in me, and that You will not abandon the job half-done.  I believe that there are no mistakes, and that You are managing everything around me with Your protective eye, and that even if harm should befall me, You will find a way to use it to my advantage.  You always do the perfect good for me when I submit to Your will.  Rescue me from my tendency to exercise my own selfish will, which I now offer to You for proper disposal and containment.

 

 

 

From Proverbs 18, NIV:

2 Fools find no pleasure in understanding

but delight in airing their own opinions.

This verse troubles me every time I read it, because it makes me do some self-evaluation.  It’s like a red flag once a month reminding me that the purpose of my writing is not to air out my opinions, but to look deeper for God’s and to share what I find.  This I know: my way has never worked well for me, and I certainly wouldn’t wish my will on someone else.  My motive here is to be held accountable to diligently seek, consider, apply and share the will of God as I find it for my life.

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in 1 Corinthians 12, NIV:

11 All these are the work of one and the same Spirit, and he distributes them to each one, just as he determines.

12 Just as a body, though one, has many parts, but all its many parts form one body, so it is with Christ.

This excerpt is preceded by a listing of several miraculous spiritual ministry gifts.  Scripture says here that they are apportioned as the Spirit of Christ determines.  There is a section break, but the thought is continued in the next verse, comparing gifts and ministries to parts of a body and the special purpose for each one.  You and I have different stations, different localities, different lives.  Why would we expect the same manifestations of the Spirit?  God will deploy His resources to whom He will, and will enable each member to perform its unique task in its time.  It is not for me to prescribe my spiritual wish-list and make demands, but it is my responsibility to educate myself about the Spirit who gives these gifts, and to be ready to receive them as He determines, eagerly desiring the greater gifts, according to verse 31a.  Paul introduces “the Love Chapter” (1 Corinthians 13) by calling it “the most excellent way” (verse 31b).

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 62:

He is the Principal; we are His agents. He is the Father, and we are His children.

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

† For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

