Abstinent Today:

I am a gratefully recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

Well, today was the first day of school for this old timer, and it was nothing to be anxious about.  God has a way of preparing me for tomorrow by allowing me to live today.  School will likely work out the same way.  I am grateful that my professor is taking some time to review the basic concepts, so I can have a chance to catch up.

The exterminator came back today and administered the last of the termiticide.  Now our floors are covered in little dead bug-bodies.  I don’t remember being distracted by home ownership and economics the last time I worked at math homework.  Maybe because I was a kid whose only care was how to afford the latest album and where to take my girlfriend out on Friday night.

 

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Tradition Five reminds us that our recovery doesn’t come from simply discussing our problems with each other. It is in the OA message—in our Steps and Traditions—that we find solutions to our problems.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 146

The solution is not in the problem, and rehashing and rehearsing how bad things are only programs them deeper into my consciousness.  Applying the recovery solution to little things and big things, practicing the principles of recovery in all my affairs is the formula for sanity.

 

 

 

From Proverbs 13, NIV:

4 A sluggard’s appetite is never filled,

but the desires of the diligent are fully satisfied.

Dear Father, today, keep me diligent about the tasks that You would have me perform, and not to become distracted by my selfish whims.

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in 1 Corinthians 7, NIV:

24 Brothers and sisters, each person, as responsible to God, should remain in the situation they were in when God called them.

I have seen a lot of new converts to Christianity suddenly decide, in their new passion, to stop doing what they have always done and go into full-time vocational ministry, completely missing value of their position in the world right where they are.  I have heard a slogan that sums this up nicely, “Bloom where you’re planted.”  This indicates that it is not for everyone to travel to India to feed the poor, but some of us are right where God needs us to be to do what He needs done.  God doesn’t need all Christians to be priests and pastors.  The bulk of ministry is to be done by the rest of us, the so-called lay-ministers.  There is no one who can reach my world as well as I can, and there is no one who can better relate to yours than you.

 

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 89:

Ministers and doctors are competent and you can learn much from them if you wish, but it happens that because of your own drinking experience you can be uniquely useful to other alcoholics. So cooperate; never criticize. To be helpful is our only aim.

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

† For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

‡ From “Our Invitation to You” out of Overeater’s Anonymous:  “The OA recovery program is patterned after that of Alcoholics Anonymous. We use AA’s Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions, changing only the words ‘alcohol’ and ‘alcoholic’ to ‘food’ and ‘compulsive overeater.’

