all inAbstinent Today:

I am a gratefully recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time. †

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“All who have experienced the pain of compulsive eating and want to stop are equally welcome here.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 129

This reminds me of the state trooper who stopped the motorist after running through a stop sign. The motorist objected, “But, Officer, I slowed down. It’s the same thing!” The trooper grabbed him by the collar, yanked him through the window, and began unmercifully beating him in the face as he asked, “Now, do you want me to slow down or stop?”

Not everybody who attends an OA meeting qualifies for membership according to the Third Tradition, because some among us want to slow down our compulsive eating, control our compulsive eating, have it once in a while but not let it have us, or some such fiction. If I’m in the mouth of the dragon, I don’t want him to take his time eating me, I want him to spit me out and go away. I want to STOP eating compulsively! Anyone with me?

 

 

From Proverbs 4:

14 Do not set foot on the path of the wicked

or walk in the way of evildoers.

15 Avoid it, do not travel on it;

turn from it and go on your way.

Selfish, indulgent eating is not my only problem. I am recovering from a selfish, indulgent system of living. My whims and fancies drove me wherever they would when I let them. Now, I am seeking God’s will for each step, counting on Him to lead me away from what would steal my vitality and direct me closer to Him. These verses are a reminder that living this way is to be my constant reality and not just a once-a-day or week occurrence. As with abstinence from compulsive eating, I am to abstain always from following selfish will anywhere, for “evildoers” are self-servers, and the wicked are merely indulging in the will of their father, the devourer.

Dear Father, today, keep me firmly planted in Your will, and treading carefully each step to avoid stepping back into my own fancies and frivolities. Make me Yours always, and keep me from harming Your other children as I walk close with You.

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Romans 14:

1 Accept the one whose faith is weak, without quarreling over disputable matters.

Paul’s point is well made, and too often overlooked. The church of God is too often splintered by such disputable matters as these he mentions and others. Meat-eating and holiday observance were the objects of Paul’s lesson, but how many similar dividing lines have been drawn by what we disapprove? How much water? How much wine? Which day of the week? Whether to kneel? Whether to speak up or keep quiet? How separate to be from the world? Imagine the full power of a Church so united that none of these mattered!

17 For the kingdom of God is not a matter of eating and drinking, but of righteousness, peace and joy in the Holy Spirit, 18 because anyone who serves Christ in this way is pleasing to God and receives human approval.

19 Let us therefore make every effort to do what leads to peace and to mutual edification.

Yes, let’s! God, help me love without criticism, and accept without finding fault. May my walk be a contribution to Your Church and not a detraction.

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, “Foreward to the 2nd Edition”:

Would there be strivings for power and prestige? Would there be schisms which would split A.A. apart? Soon A.A. was beset by these very problems on every side and in every group. But out of this frightening and at first disrupting experience the conviction grew that A.A.’s had to hang together or die separately. We had to unify our Fellowship or pass off the scene.

 

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

† For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

