lay down life Jn10-17Abstinent Today:

I am a gratefully recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Each group has but one primary purpose—to carry its message to the compulsive overeater who still suffers.” — Tradition Five

This is important to keep in mind, especially because ours is a disease of self-centeredness. Though we may well be clear of the food that entangles us, often I hear the complaint, “I just don’t get anything out of this meeting anymore.” I’ve checked and rechecked but haven’t found one indication in the Steps and Traditions that the purpose of any of the meetings is for my personal enrichment. In fact, in seeking such, I realize I have the key upside-down in the door! It is in giving that I receive, and in sharing that I keep. If I’m not getting out of a meeting what I expect, one of two things is wrong: my attitude or my level of involvement. When the suffering arrive, hopefully I’ll be there and I’ll have something to share worth their coming back!

 

 

 

From Proverbs 3:

7 Do not be wise in your own eyes;

fear the Lord and shun evil.

8 This will bring health to your body

and nourishment to your bones.

Some insist that the promises of Scripture are spiritual only, and that those who use them to claim earthly benefits are misusing them. This pair of verses points to a physical health as a result of holistic worship. The humble in spirit, reverent in thought, and abstinent in behavior reap health and nourishment of bones and body. Jesus told His disciples that a spirit does not have flesh and bone (Luke 24:39), so clearly this promise is for our earthly bodies. This promise is made in several different words throughout this chapter. Turning from what comes naturally to the guidance of the Spirit of Wisdom produces life – full, abundant life.

Dear Father, today, help me walk according to Your direction rather than my whims. May I receive You in my heart, and the blessings of Your presence in my every cell and sinew. Make Yourself at home in me!

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Romans 13:

9 The commandments, “You shall not commit adultery,” “You shall not murder,” “You shall not steal,” “You shall not covet,”[Exodus 20:13-15,17; Deut. 5:17-19,21] and whatever other command there may be, are summed up in this one command: “Love your neighbor as yourself.”[Lev. 19:18] 10 Love does no harm to a neighbor. Therefore love is the fulfillment of the law.

 

13 Let us behave decently, as in the daytime, not in carousing and drunkenness, not in sexual immorality and debauchery, not in dissension and jealousy. 14 Rather, clothe yourselves with the Lord Jesus Christ, and do not think about how to gratify the desires of the flesh.[In contexts like this, the Greek word for flesh (sarx) refers to the sinful state of human beings, often presented as a power in opposition to the Spirit.]

 

Trying to fulfill the law by obedience, I was constantly frustrated, and often attempted to sate my frustration by pointing out the faults in others, at least elevating myself above them. But in acting that way, I missed the entire point of God’s commands: love. He loved us, so He gave us guidelines for living that would enrich our lives. He knew we could not keep them everyone, so He fixed it so that we could have relationship with Him and enjoy His blessing even in the midst of our constant failure. The cry of the Law, the prophets, and Christ Himself seems to echo, “Love others and stop following the selfish ways, but enjoy the blessing of relationship with God for which you were created.”

 

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 83:

So we clean house with the family, asking each morning in meditation that our Creator show us the way of patience, tolerance, kindliness and love.

The spiritual life is not a theory. We have to live it.

 

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

† For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

