Abstinent Today:

I am a gratefully recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time. †

I’m getting a late start on my daily devotions, having gotten some much needed rest this morning, and addressed some errands that needed it.

 

 

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Practicing the principle of faith today means that we will no longer go through life acting however we feel like acting at any given moment. Instead we will look to our Higher Power for guidance and strength as we face each decision.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 104

I like the idea of faith being something to practice. Faith is not the same thing as belief, because belief is merely cognitive while faith is active. It is total confidence that can be proved by action. (Hebrews 11:6, James 2:17-26) I can believe that a rope will hold my weight, but until I tie on and begin lowering myself down a ledge, I haven’t practiced any faith concerning that rope. My Higher Power, who chose to call Himself God, said that, without faith it is impossible to please Him, because in order to come to Him one must already believe. The action of coming to Him completes the faith.

I have met some who can take a step in faith, who are not sure yet whether they believe, but they do and are rewarded, and so then begin to believe. This is further proof to me that belief and faith are not the same thing. All who have accepted the idea of “acting as if” and applied it, not because of their belief, but because it seems to be working for others, prove that this is true and works. It reminds me that God is eager to see us turn to Him, even when we aren’t sure what to expect. None of us knows all there is to know about God, so a complete knowledge of Him could not be required in order for faith to work; just a willingness to accept that He is.

 

 

From Proverbs 12:

4 A wife of noble character is her husband’s crown,

but a disgraceful wife is like decay in his bones.

I’m wearing my crown out on the town tonight. We’re about to head out to a concert featuring a Christian comedian. I’m looking forward to it.

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Acts 20:

21 I have declared to both Jews and Greeks that they must turn to God in repentance and have faith in our Lord Jesus.

These are the words Paul used to summarize the message of his ministry, and it adequately summarizes a mission I wish to live. It is faith in God, who has revealed Himself in the person of Jesus Christ, that saves us not only from the death to come, but from the spiritual death to which we had consigned ourselves to live when we acted in every way according to our own will, wish and way.

 

Gotta run.  Goodnight.

 

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

† For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

