Abstinent Today:

I am a gratefully recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time. †

Yesterday went well. I had no problems or fallout from supervising my peers, and accepted that many ways are acceptable even though they are not MY WAY. Being the peer-supervisor in recovery was less stressful than I ever remember it being before!

I have received some bad financial news lately, and it has me considering options, including that of asking for financial contributions from my adult children who have returned to what was once an empty nest. I am looking for ways to cut expenses and increase income to make up for some changes I cannot control. All this economic crunching has left me with one prevailing thought: anyone is wealthy who is content!

 

 

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“They want to learn all they can, and they never know whom their Higher Power might choose to teach them.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 203

The bit of wisdom I most need often comes from the one in the room I find most objectionable. I have to discipline myself to remain in community with such annoying rascals as me, so that those recovering self-will addicts can help me hear the sound of my disease and the remedy, and choose life.

 

 

 

From Proverbs 11:

24 One person gives freely, yet gains even more;

another withholds unduly, but comes to poverty.

This goes along with my thoughts on contentment. When I worry that I won’t have enough, I tend to hold close to me what I do have, failing to share it with those around me. My fear overgrows my generosity and chokes it out. I need to remember that the One who owns the heavens and the earth will always supply my need, and He will resource my charity without fail, blessing me for it spiritually, physically and mentally.

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Acts 19:

1 While Apollos was at Corinth, Paul took the road through the interior and arrived at Ephesus. There he found some disciples 2 and asked them, “Did you receive the Holy Spirit when you believed?”

They answered, “No, we have not even heard that there is a Holy Spirit.”

Here is an example of the spiritually dead religious, one of whom I have been for much of my life. These had washed themselves of the sins of the law, turning to obedience and trying once again to follow the rules, but they had not received the God-breathed power of life into them that comes with a touch, or a prayer and a sweeping out of the foulness that once ruled inside us. If I, by my own power, attempt to justify myself by claiming never to have murdered, of keeping my hands to myself regarding other people’s possessions and wives, etcetera, I may deceive some people into thinking I can check off the big ten, but inside I will know that I have not lived up to the spirit of their intent for me. I’ve missed the mark. I’ve fallen short. Jesus came to point out the spirit of the Law was in loving God and loving one another. He said it wasn’t good enough not to murder your neighbor or sleep with his wife; we’ve failed if we have harbored ill will against our neighbor or even looked at his wife in lust. He introduced us to spirit, so He could empower us with His.

Dear Father, today, make me alive with Your Spirit, and keep me abiding in You.

 

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 95:

Never talk down to an alcoholic from any moral or spiritual hilltop; simply lay out the kit of spiritual tools for his inspection. Show him how they worked with you. Offer him friendship and fellowship. Tell him that if he wants to get well you will do anything to help.

 

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

† For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

‡ From “Our Invitation to You” out of Overeater’s Anonymous:  “The OA recovery program is patterned after that of Alcoholics Anonymous. We use AA’s Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions, changing only the words ‘alcohol’ and ‘alcoholic’ to ‘food’ and ‘compulsive overeater.’”

 

