Abstinent Today:

I am a gratefully recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time. †

 

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

I have decided to post today’s VOR entry in its entirety because it almost completely encapsulates the truth of my recovery:

“We apply this principle in many ways now, learning through each day’s experience the difference between self-will and a simple willingness to cooperate with the guidance of our Higher Power.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, pp. 104-105

Sometimes I have to remind myself that, “If I disagree with God, guess who’s wrong?” By whatever means we were created, that creation process determines my eating needs. My health and well-being depend on my willingness to cooperate with that reality. I cannot do God’s part; I never could, but as I operate in harmony with what God does, I am recovering.

It is the same with all of life’s activities. Everything goes better as I cooperate with how things really work, by employing the Twelve-Step principles: self-honesty, hope, faith, courage, integrity, willingness, humility, self-discipline, love, perseverance, spiritual awareness, and service. When I started asking God to help me with His plans, instead of asking His help with my plans, I was on my way! Now I can welcome each new day because I am learning from my experiences.

 

 

 

 

 

From Proverbs 8:

17 I love those who love me,

and those who seek me find me.

Wisdom makes some big promises in this chapter, but of them my favorite is that she will not evade those who seek her. The Spirit of Truth waits to be found by all, even as each is empowered to find her and through her become acquainted with the One who made us all.

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Acts 16:

23 After they had been severely flogged, they were thrown into prison, and the jailer was commanded to guard them carefully. 24 When he received these orders, he put them in the inner cell and fastened their feet in the stocks.

25 About midnight Paul and Silas were praying and singing hymns to God, and the other prisoners were listening to them.

These lines are nestled in between two amazing miracles, but the miracle I hope for is the one described here. Having been abused and mistreated, they praised God with humble and grateful attitudes, and capitalized their predicament as an opportunity to reach an audience that would normally be captive to darkness and despair.

Heavenly Father, today, make me an instrument of Your grace. Transform my attitude to be something You can use. Purify my behavior by becoming my only motive. Wash my speech by filling me to overflowing with Your love. Extinguish my will and way, so no one can get in or on it, but let me by Your power guide the darkened about me to the Light of Life found in You.

 

 

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 51:

When many hundreds of people are able to say that the consciousness of the Presence of God is today the most important fact of their lives, they present a powerful reason why one should have faith.

 

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

† For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

