Abstinent Today:

I am a gratefully recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time. †

 

 

 

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“In Step Eleven we are challenged to actively seek to improve our relationship with our Higher Power in the same way we might develop any relationship, by taking the time on a regular basis to be with HP.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 92

When I listen in on telephone meetings, I often hear people “claiming a seat.” It is like a caller checking in when they have nothing to say. Unfortunately, I get into phases when my prayer time is little more than that. I return my focus to God in little more than a glimpse, and don’t spend time listening to Him or discussing the problems of others with Him. I want my relationship with God to be more than just, “Good morning. Have a nice day.” My marriage wouldn’t do well if that and a “Glad you’re home… Goodnight,” was all it ever got. To thrive, a relationship needs interaction.

Even as I write this, I am convicted on both accounts. I know my history of self-will addiction has hobbled my relationship-building skills, so I cannot rely on my instincts or natural tendencies to build happy, healthy relationships. Instead, I need to work each of the steps, and not just drift off to sleep during Step Ten every night. Step Eleven starts a day, continues throughout the day, and should accompany my Step Ten review.

 

 

 

 

From Proverbs 6:

23 For this command is a lamp,

this teaching is a light,

and correction and instruction

are the way to life

The command is to obey your father’s commands and do not forsake your mother’s instruction (v. 20). While I have been blessed with responsible parents, I know that not all my fellow humans are so blessed. I also consider Jesus’ teaching that God is our Father, and the lost obey their father the devil. There is instruction elsewhere in proverbs to call Wisdom our sister and Understanding our kin (Proverbs 7:4). Obeying the instruction and commands of my Heavenly Father as well as my earth dad, and the mothering Spirit of Wisdom as well as my mother, I can’t go wrong.

 

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Acts 14:

19 Then some Jews came from Antioch and Iconium and won the crowd over. They stoned Paul and dragged him outside the city, thinking he was dead. 20 But after the disciples had gathered around him, he got up and went back into the city. The next day he and Barnabas left for Derbe.

21 They preached the gospel in that city and won a large number of disciples. Then they returned to Lystra, Iconium and Antioch, 22 strengthening the disciples and encouraging them to remain true to the faith. “We must go through many hardships to enter the kingdom of God,” they said.

Few can say they’ve been beaten to death with rocks for the cause of Christ. Paul, who had this boast, said that hardships are a part of our progression toward Heaven. I am ashamed at how easily I whine about my circumstances rather than embrace trials as ladder rungs to my perfection. Hebrews 12:11 says, “No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it.” I’m eager to try again next time calamity comes, to rest secure and let my faith grow to match the circumstance.

 

 

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 133:

Avoid then, the deliberate manufacture of misery, but if trouble comes, cheerfully capitalize it as an opportunity to demonstrate His omnipotence.

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

† For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

