Today
I am a gratefully recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more day at a time.
I did not do well at work yesterday. In the morning, I devote myself to God in what I think is all humility, but before the rooster crows, I find I have denied Him several times in my language, my behavior, and my attitude. God save me from my duplicity! Make me one of Your shining lights, not for the sake of my glory, but for Yours, and so others might be drawn to You.

From Voices of Recovery

“Honesty is a key factor in our recovery from compulsive eating, and so we will want to develop this trait.” – The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 51

Lying is covering the truth, and so is isolation, denial, even obesity. Whatever fabric we choose to shield ourselves, we must recognize that we have been warring against Truth, and declare a cease-fire. As we begin a healing relationship with Truth, we find Him more and more a savory Spirit who only seeks our good. As this reality unfolds before us, we find a friend who is big enough to lift us up wherever we fall, mighty enough to shoulder our heaviest burdens, tough enough to absorb our many abuses, and loving enough to forgive them all. As Truth becomes more closely our friend, we cannot help but to strive to live in the pattern of Truth.

From Proverbs 29 (NIV)

Fools give full vent to their rage, but the wise bring calm in the end. (Proverbs 29:11)

There were several convicting verses in this chapter today, including verses 18, 19, and 20, which have to do with discipline that corrects faulty behavior, but this verse, addressing rage and contrasting it with the calm produced by wisdom seemed to glare at my primary defects, and point out how far I have yet to go. Still, I will not lose hope, because He who began a good work in me will not quit; but is faithful to bring me to completion. (Philippians 1:6)

From Acts 5

[19-20] But during the night an angel of the Lord opened the doors of the jail and brought them out. “Go, stand in the temple courts,” he said, “and tell the people all about this new life.”
[29] Peter and the other apostles replied: “We must obey God rather than human beings!
[32] We are witnesses of these things, and so is the Holy Spirit, whom God has given to those who obey him.”
[42] Day after day, in the temple courts and from house to house, they never stopped teaching and proclaiming the good news that Jesus is the Messiah.

Witness! I am a witness to the saving power of Jesus Christ and, as such, have a responsibility to faithfully share it. How I do muddy the message when I let my humanity grab the reins! Peter and the other apostles endured much worse hardship and counted it a privilege to be found worthy to suffer for the Name (v. 41). Surely I could do better than I have been! God, I am willing; make me clean!

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous p. 85

Our next function is to grow in understanding and effectiveness. This is not an overnight matter. It should continue for our lifetime. Continue to watch for selfishness, dishonesty, resentment, and fear. When these crop up, we ask God at once to remove them.

