I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God, one more day at a time.
The funeral for my friend who took his own life was this morning. If there is any comfort it is in this: I am not God, and I do not know His judgments. While I feel like suicide is the ultimate act of distrust in God, I am reminded that there is only one unforgivable sin: that of blasphemy of the Holy Spirit (Mark 3:28-29). Grace is certainly big enough for someone outside my perspective. Even Bible heroes like Paul and David despaired to the point of death. I need to take a strong stand against suicide here, and yet beg for the mercy of God to receive my friend and console his survivors with peace.

From Voices of Recovery

“Weight has seemingly been such an overwhelming problem that until pounds are shed, many of us have not been aware of the problems that underlie compulsive overeating.” ̶ So You’ve Reached Goal Weight, Now What? P. 1

When I was about weight loss, I experienced brief periods of success that were always followed by worse seasons of failure. When I turned my focus to abstinence and the Twelve Steps, sanity began to happen and weight loss resulted. As I transitioned to maintenance, I began to realize that the sanity I was given is delicately balanced on several pivot points: my continued commitment to abstain from grabbing back my will, my surrender to God and His will for me, and my diligent effort to love all (including myself) and harm none (including myself) doing the next right thing as God directs me. My character defects will not find themselves at home in a life lived this way. As they are identified, each one is given over to God to deal with as He wishes, and I begin to act accordingly, forgiving myself and others when I am disappointed by failure and striving forward toward progress, never achieving perfection but always aiming in that direction.

From Proverbs 12 (NKJV)

“18 There is one who speaks like the piercings of a sword,
But the tongue of the wise promotes health.”

I love Old Testament Scriptures that reference Jesus, and this is one. The One from who’s mouth comes the double-edged sword, the Word of God, the Sword of the Spirit sharper than any double-edged sword, dividing soul and spirit, this is the One who speaks like the piercings of a sword. Ever feel it doing surgery on you? You know it when it happens! It both hurts and blesses, to know that a power so great is at work within you.
The wisdom God gives will always promote abundant life, for that was the purpose of Jesus’ visit, according to John 10:10, “I have come that they may have life, and that they may have it more abundantly.” If I am to be a disciple of Jesus, a Christ in miniature (for that is what “Christian” is supposed to mean), then my tongue is supposed promote what His would: abundant life, health, vitality according to His wisdom. This is my goal. I can’t help but wonder how much of my speech has been more like harmful daggers than healing balm.
God, make me an instrument of Your grace, and mute the self-serving desires in me that would neglect and abuse Your children all for the sake of pride.

From John 9 (NKJV)

“5 As long as I am in the world, I am the light of the world.”
“39 And Jesus said, ‘For judgment I have come into this world, that those who do not see may see, and that those who see may be made blind.’”

Judgment here is not condemnation, as if He were pronouncing a convicted person’s sentence, as we have His assurance elsewhere that is not the case (John 3:17, 12:47). Rather, it is a rendering of a judicial opinion that draws a line between the seeing and the blind, the sheep and the goats, those with the light and those without. It is the evidence that we all will eventually stand before the Creator, with nothing to cover our sin but the resource provided by our Holy Intercessor: His body and blood.

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, p. 70

“Counsel with persons is often desirable, but we let God be the final judge.”

