Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

I had to skip my gym workout today for my pet’s veterinary appointment.  It is an excused alteration of my action plan, but skipping workouts makes the next one that much harder.  I’ll take it as it comes.

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“…compulsive eating is an illness that cannot be controlled by willpower.  None of us decided to have this disorder…”     ̶  The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 3

It is good for me to acknowledge that only God could remove this problem, and only when I was ready.  Otherwise, I would have to carry the blame for not having fixed it sooner in addition to the worry of its future success or relapse.  As it is, all I am responsible to do is get out of God’s way, do the next right thing, love Him, myself and others, and keep fueling His machine the way I believe He would have me.  Where I end up and how I look, feel and survive is entirely up to Him.

 

 

 

From Proverbs 11 (NKJV):

11 By the blessing of the upright the city is exalted,
But it is overthrown by the mouth of the wicked.”

It is strange this would come up today.  Only yesterday, as I rode through town, I was convicted by the thoughts I had of the people I passed.  There are a lot of negative things going on in my town, as I’m sure there are everywhere else.  With economies bad, people begin to feel threatened, political turmoil erupts, the “haves” hoard what they have, and the “have-nots” begin to resent the “haves” in new and detrimental ways.  I began to pray for the homeless, the addicted, the wandering, not just by category, but as individuals as I passed them.  As I did, I considered that it was quite likely most of them had no one else to pray for them.  There are plenty of evil things being spoken in an about my town, but I imagine precious little blessing being spoken around the city.  Some of these folks I guessed would not permit my blessing to stay with them, but I got a sense of togetherness by just asking God to give them what they most desperately needed, the thing I most desperately want: knowledge of God’s will for them (me) and the power to carry that out.  This verse just made me think of that.

Who could you bless today?  What’s keeping you?  If we each prayed a blessing an hour, would it ever match the curses being called out by the discontented among us?

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in John 8 (NKJV):

31 Then Jesus said to those Jews who believed Him, ‘If you abide in My word, you are My disciples indeed.’”

42 Jesus said to them, ‘If God were your Father, you would love Me, for I proceeded forth and came from God; nor have I come of Myself, but He sent Me.’”

Whos your daddyIt is strange to imagine Jesus arguing with the religious authorities, and calling them sons of the devil (v. 44), but that is what went on here until He finally had to duck out to avoid being stoned to death before His time.  There was a lot of talk in His teaching about sonship and slavery.  Ours is a relationship of a beloved heir, not a servant.  The discipleship of which He speaks seems like an apprenticeship: the Father teaches the Heir, and the Heir passes on what He got from the Father to the rest of the sons and daughters, so that the work can be carried out in the Family enterprise to the glory of … you guess it – the Father!  He dismissed the notion that those who would reject Him might have understood, because they were not family.

Thank You, Heavenly Father, for adopting me as Your son, and for giving me such a Savior to follow and from which to learn.  Help me diligently follow and work, so that the Family enterprise may flourish, Your territory increase, and Your name be glorified!

 

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 62:

“He is the Principal; we are His agents. He is the Father, and we are his children.  Most good ideas are simple, and this concept was the keystone of the new and triumphant arch through which we passed to freedom.”

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

