Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

Yesterday was nice, though I missed my reading/writing/devotion time.  I started my day in prayer, and spent the rest of it as I believe I should have, though procrastination of a service project forced me to spend a larger portion of my evening on it than I would have liked.  My precious bride and I enjoyed our anniversary night out.  Actually, it became an afternoon and evening out when she surprised me by taking a half-day off and coming home early.

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Recovery is the result of living the Overeaters Anonymous Twelve-Step Program”  – A Commitment to Abstinence, p.1

This is half of OA’s statement on abstinence and recovery.  When I am called to read it in a meeting, I make sure to take a pause and a breath between the statements, just to make sure that I distinguish they are two separate statements.  I think too many believe that being abstinent is all there is to recovery, and those unfortunates are missing something entirely, and reduce the program to a diet.  In fact, most tend to blur the distinction between these and the next few lines about the Tools of Recovery, which are something else entirely.  The tools are the things I do to help me live the Twelve Steps; abstinence is what I do not do to help me live the Twelve Steps; and recovery is the thing I cannot control, but which God gives to me quite by His will and power alone, as I live the Twelve Steps – it is a new freedom from the insanity associated with, but not entirely marked by, compulsive eating.

 

From Proverbs 9 (NKJV):

“Come, eat of my bread
And drink of the wine I have mixed.
Forsake foolishness and live,
And go in the way of understanding.”

Wisdom’s table is set and her invitation is for everyone.  I choose to dine with Wisdom, and leave behind the folly of self-indulgence.  This verse has implications physical, spiritual, and mental.  I accept them all!

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in John 6 (NKJV):

I am Bread of Life27 Do not labor for the food which perishes, but for the food which endures to everlasting life, which the Son of Man will give you, because God the Father has set His seal on Him.”

33 For the bread of God is He who comes down from heaven and gives life to the world.”

Jesus is the Bread of Life. (v. 48)  He is the answer to the question of the wandering tribes of Israel, “What is it?”  It was Him who sustained them in the wilderness, and it is Him who sustains me now.  “The life I live in the body I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself up for me.” (Galatians 2:20b)  This is a most critical daily affirmation for me.  This carnal world is throwing its delicacies in my face all day long, but I know the One Who sustains me.  He is the One who loves me and died for me.  What do the toxin-marketers want from me?  My money!  They do the will of the destroyer who wants me isolated or dead…anything to keep me quiet or distracted from my real purpose.

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, “Truth Freed Me!”:

“Are you right with the Father who knows your needs before you ask?  If so, you are not dependent upon this bank or any individual in it, or any rules by which we operate, because your help comes from an ever present and all powerful Father.”

“Your business is business with God’s work.  I don’t know whether that calls for you to go and collect a bill, sell some new contract, or to sit quietly and pray, but your Father knows and if you will permit Him, He will direct you.”

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

