Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“…as we understood Him,…” — Step Eleven

The obstacles between God and us are not His imperfections, but ours.  Our misconceptions are almost always inherited or learned from those of others, but it is absolutely impossible to completely know, understand, or fathom all that God is, has, and does for us.  Besides being myopic microorganisms attempting to appraise an infinite Being, we each have the pain of disappointments in our past – those hopes that have been dashed because things did not go as we thought they would, should, or could if we had been in charge.  That is the whole point!  We are not in charge, and we do not have to have a complete understanding of God to begin a relationship with Him; only a recognition of the fact that He is God and we are not.  He will begin to supply us with the rest as we go along as soon as we become willing to take these and certain other steps.

 

 

From Proverbs 4 (NKJV):

13 Take firm hold of instruction, do not let go;
Keep her, for she is your life.”

I was about six, walking with my mother, my brother and my sisters in a large shopping mall.  I reached up and took my mother’s hand, but at the other end of her arm I heard giggling that was not familiar to me.  I looked up and saw that the hand I had taken was not that of my mother, but of a strange woman, who was giggling at me!  I scanned the nearby area but found no sign of my family, and I began to panic.  The urgency of this verse makes me remember what it was like to take hold of something I had let go and, trusting it in love, find out it was an imposter.  When my mother did finally find me she was, no doubt, as scared as I was, but I remember very clearly her lesson for me that day, “Don’t ever wander off again!”  Now that Wisdom is my caregiving sister and Understanding my kinsman (Proverbs 7:4), I hope to hold firmly to them, so that I do not wander off.  The Spirit of Wisdom lights my path and leads to Life (Psalm 119:105, John 8:12).

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in John 2 (NKJV):

19 Jesus answered and said to them, ‘Destroy this temple, and in three days I will raise it up.’”

21 But He was speaking of the temple of His body.”

Which is more difficult: to erect a building on short order or to resurrect life?  Considering the building  of which they spoke, either one would be impossible, but God accomplished the more difficult to show us that impossible is possible for Him and that no one is so dead or so immersed in sin that they are out of reach of His resurrecting power.

Thank You, Father, for coming to earth to demonstrate our need for You and to meet that need.  Help me to live in the light of Your resurrection, and to be free of the darkness of death and destruction always.  Thank You for rebuilding me, the temple of Your Spirit (1 Corinthians 3:16, 6:19), and making me new and alive, though I was dead and in ruins.

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 11:

“But my friend sat before me, and he made the point blank declaration that God had done for him what he could not do for himself. His human will had failed. Doctors had pronounced him incurable. Society was about to lock him up. Like myself, he had admitted complete defeat. Then he had, in effect, been raised from the dead, suddenly taken from the scrap heap to a level of life better than the best he had ever known!”

 

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

