From Voices of Recovery

“Once we compulsive Overeaters truly take the Third Step we cannot fail to recover.” – The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous

I heard someone recently say that we can no more rely on yesterday’s surrender than we can rely on yesterday’s shower. This is why I reaffirm my Step Three commitment many times each day. Compulsive eating didn’t hurt me once and stop, and I can’t rest on a once-and-done approach to surrender to solve it either.

From Proverbs 2

“For the Lord gives wisdom, and from his mouth come knowledge and understanding.” Proverbs 2:6 (NIV)

Surrendering to the One who knows all and holds all can hardly be considered a loss, as most surrender is. He has all wisdom and shares it with those who ask. What a gain to surrender to such a generous King!
I was thinking about the picture of knowledge and understanding coming from the mouth of God. It reminded me if the double-edged sword of the Spirit, the Word of God, who we read is, when in human flesh, Jesus Christ. The Word was given in writing as the Bible, in a mysterious food source as manna, and remains among us as Holy Spirit. The Spirit was breathed into Adam, rested individually on the judges and prophets, lighted on Jesus like a dove, appeared on the crowd at Pentecost like tongues of fire, and lights the way of each who seek and obey Him today. I choose to welcome and invite the Spirit of the Word of God today, and eagerly anticipate, with thanksgiving, the manifestation of this Spirit in my life. I count on Him to help me discern, understand, and know God’s will for me, and to give me the power to carry that out.

From Luke 24

[6] He is not here; he has risen! Remember how he told you, while he was still with you in Galilee: [7] `The Son of Man must be delivered into the hands of sinful men, be crucified and on the third day be raised again.’ ” [8] Then they remembered his words.

The truth is concealed until God determines we are ready to perceive it. This is why it does no good to criticize someone for not understanding or accepting the truth of the Gospel. As long as one is willing to believe in the concept of God, and earnestly seeks Him and asks God to reveal Himself, I wholeheartedly believe that God is faithful to introduce Himself, and make Himself known in the person of Jesus Christ. Only God can save a soul. My job is to represent Him well, doing my best to lovingly serve all, harm none, and introduce inquirers to Him.

[45] Then he opened their minds so they could understand the Scriptures.

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 58

“RARELY HAVE we seen a person fail who has thoroughly followed our path. Those who do not recover are people who cannot or will not completely give themselves to this simple program, usually men and women who are constitutionally incapable of being honest with themselves. There are such unfortunates. They are not at fault; they seem to have been born that way. They are naturally incapable of grasping and developing a manner of living which demands rigorous honesty.”

