Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“… when I work Step Three and turn my will and my life and my food over to my Higher Power, I am no longer powerless.

“… Allowing this new power to flow in constantly and consistently throughout this day, I see that cravings are not commands, and relapse is never inevitable.”

God’s food God’s way is a practical fuel for doing God’s purposes in God’s timing according to God’s will.  It just makes sense when doing His work that we fuel His created machine according to His design.  Not only are cravings not commands, but they are usually temptations to steer away from God’s portion and providence.  Thinking this way makes abstinence easier.  I wouldn’t drink from a bottle marked with a skull and crossbones.  Why would I eat stuff that has been similarly branded in my mind and spirit?

 

 

 

From Proverbs 1 (NKJV):

Wisdom offers Her call:

23 Turn at my rebuke;
Surely I will pour out my spirit on you;
I will make my words known to you.”

…And She laments over those who disregard Her:

31 Therefore they shall eat the fruit of their own way,
And be filled to the full with their own fancies.
32 For the turning away of the simple will slay them,
And the complacency of fools will destroy them”

Jesus’ coming demonstrated that mankind was on a path of separation, and that in order to be in union with God a turning was required.  He cleared the path, paid our passage, and, by introducing Himself, showed us the Way.  The Holy Spirit of Wisdom remains to echo His rebuke and love us into relationship with the Father, giving us much more to fill us than our empty whims and wishes.  The invitation is not burdensome, but it is also not extended forever.  There is urgency to the call.  We are not promised a count of ten, let alone a tomorrow.  Destruction waits to swallow the complacent; the follies of the self-indulgent will testify against them at their judgment.  Now is the time to turn, and today is the day to give self and selfishness over to God to build with it and to do with it as He wills.

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Luke 23 (NKJV):

23 But they were insistent, demanding with loud voices that He be crucified. And the voices of these men and of the chief priests prevailed.[e] 24 So Pilate gave sentence that it should be as they requested. 25 And he released to them[f] the one they requested, who for rebellion and murder had been thrown into prison; but he delivered Jesus to their will.”

Jesus crucifiedThe will of man!  Is there any doubt that it is deadly?  The fancies of the fickle, the wishes of the wayward, the poison of the people – it drew Eve to forbidden fruit, it sentenced the God-man, Jesus, to be crucified, and it whispers sweet nothings to the appetites of each of us, begging us to go just a little farther out of the way of reunion with the Father.

Today, I will ignore the beckoning of evil, and take each step with determination on the path God has set before me, veering not one inch and trusting Jesus Christ to be my Way and Light of Life.

46 And when Jesus had cried out with a loud voice, He said, ‘Father, ‘into Your hands I commit My spirit.’’[n] Having said this, He breathed His last.”

Into God’s hands I commit my spirit and I take this breath, expelling the corruption of humanity and the death to which it would inevitably lead me, and drinking in the Breath of Life, the free gift of the Provider and Redeemer, that fulfills, sustains and shines within me, a deposit of the Everlasting Light in which I will stand in union with God forever!

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 14:

“Simple, but not easy; a price had to be paid. It meant destruction of self-centeredness. I must turn in all things to the Father of Light who presides over us all.”

 

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

