perseverance eagleAbstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

One of the best things I can do for myself is get to a meeting!  I spent all yesterday in the blues, using the rain and a little bit of a sore throat as excuses to sit inside and watch television most of the day.  When it came time for my meeting, I made myself get up and go.  Two newcomers were there, and as I listened to the excitement of the stories shared for their benefit (including mine), my spirit warmed inside me, and I was alive again.  You know what I think I’ll do?  “Keep coming back!”

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Unity does not mean uniformity. In OA we learn we can disagree with other people on important issues and still be supportive friends.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 115

Whew!  It’s a good thing!  ‘Cause there are some strange ideas floating around in our groups that I have found myself biting my tongue over and then politely saying, “Thanks for sharing,” when what I felt like saying was, “Thanks for finally shutting up!”  The reality is that my viewpoints are not superior to those of anyone else, and others are as likely to be choking back cross-talk when I’m speaking too.   The unity of a group allows for universal acceptance, and permission for people to make mistakes, recognize them or not, and grow from the positive atmosphere and loving nurture of the fellowship.  Agree?  I don’t think a roomful of obsessive-compulsive self-will addicts could ever agree on anything, except maybe that the lights in the room should be turned on.  And I remember at least one debate about that!

 

 

From Proverbs 27 (NKJV):

Do not boast about tomorrow,
for you do not know what a day may bring forth.”

This keeps coming up lately.  James taught on it (James 4:13-16) and Jesus alluded to it when He said, “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.” (Matthew 6:34 NKJV)  I was talking to my daughter about this very thing the other day, and even wrote on it last week.  We have a tendency to get wrapped up in our own plans to the exclusion of God’s movement in our lives.  When we plan so strictly that we do not allow for interruption, or so that any service opportunity is viewed as an interruption, that is vanity, a prideful evil.

God, I want to be mobile and available to You, not stuck in my own ruts.  Help me move in Your way in Your timing.

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Luke 20 (NKJV):

19 By your patience possess your souls.”

28 Now when these things begin to happen, look up and lift up your heads, because your redemption draws near.”

36 Watch therefore, and pray always that you may be counted worthy[c] to escape all these things that will come to pass, and to stand before the Son of Man.”

Jesus warned of persecution, disaster, war, and upheaval all to come, but gave hope that all these things point to the Day of redemption, to which we, His children, should eagerly anticipate, and not worry like the lost.

“[There will be…] 26 men’s hearts failing them from fear and the expectation of those things which are coming on the earth…”

Lord of all time and space and all that lies beyond it, help me to gain, receive, hold, and preserve my eternal life by patiently persevering through whatever comes.  Help me accept any calamity with the joyful serenity of knowing my graduation day is coming.  Thank You for Your promise, Your provision, and Your purpose!

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 68:

“Just to the extent that we do as we think He would have us, and humbly rely on Him, does He enable us to match calamity with serenity.”

 

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

