Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

It was amazing to me, but yesterday, when I got done reading and writing my devotions, I went to church and the sermon was on the same topic to which my devotion had let me.  It is fascinating to see what God, in His Holy Spirit, can and does do!

Later yesterday I got on an obsessive war against weeds and it took me about two feet down, where I uprooted some monsters!  My yard has stood neglected for much of the winter, and it was really my first time back in it in quite a while.  I am always reminded that even wanted plants, when they grow outside their boundaries, are a dreadful nuisance.  I wonder how much of my character started out as planned and ended up out of bounds and defective.

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“I know today that my Higher Power will help me make reasonable choices about all aspects of my life if I only ask. Thanks to the presence of a Higher Power in my life, I am no longer at the mercy of multiple dictators.”

For a guy so addicted to my own will and way, I sure did let a lot of people control me!  They ticked me off, so I’d eat.  He angered me, so I’d rage, then eat.  She disappointed me, so I’d sulk and eat.  I gave my sanity away to “he,” “she” and “they”!  Giving up so much control to everyone else is not a very logical thing for a control freak to do, yet that was my reality.  “At the mercy of multiple dictators” is the way I lived my life.  I thank God for the hurt in my life that finally made me aware of my predicament and led me to a willingness to do what was necessary to gain some sanity!  I thank God for being the solution and for continuing to help me build usefulness and purpose where there was once just emptiness and despair.

 

 

NOTE:

I just got some bad news.  In referencing my online Bible through BibleGateway.com, I received notice that my preferred translation, the 1984 NIV, will no longer be supported.  HERE is their explanation.  Since I was in Junior High School, I have read, studied, and memorized Scripture by this translation, and I feel disappointed and abandoned.  Still, I know God will help me adapt, and I will learn what I have come to believe in a slightly different style.  I will try not to let this current hurt affect my selection of my next preference, but I suspect it might.  I feel like the folks who have always supported the King James Version as the only “authorized” version of the Bible at least have never had to experience this.  Withersoever I goest, mine selfish streaks precedeth me.  Nah!  I just can’t do it!

 

 

From Proverbs 25:

It is the glory of God to conceal a matter;
to search out a matter is the glory of kings.”

God apparently orchestrates a certain amount of struggle into the growth of man for mankind’s own benefit.  A chick has to break out of its shell in order to become strong enough to survive outside it.  An emerging butterfly has to tear out of its cocoon before it will have the strength to fly.  Man was given the task of farming his food and the curse of thistles and weeds was later used as the stuff of parables to explain the reality of man’s nature.  I really got distracted by the Bible translation thing, but God will use this to work a new thing, and I will end up better for it.  Just like He used the confusion of languages at Babel to spread man out far and wide (Genesis 11), so He will use the snapping shut of my favored reference to broaden my territory.  Who do I think I am to get my way anyway?

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Luke 19:

11 While they were listening to this, he went on to tell them a parable, because he was near Jerusalem and the people thought that the kingdom of God was going to appear at once. 12 He said: ‘A man of noble birth went to a distant country to have himself appointed king and then to return.”’

This is the opening of the Parable of the Ten Minas, told at other times as the Parable of the Talents, in which stewards were judged by their conduct with their entrusted sums of money while their master went away to return again.  What was interesting to me in this telling was Jesus’ motivation for telling it.  Luke says it was because of the crowd’s expectations.  The lesson of the parable is one of stewardship, but the lesson behind Jesus’ reason for telling it was a parallel between it and what was about to happen to Him.  He was being hailed a savior, but by the end of the week He would be crucified as a blasphemer, raised a conqueror, and later would depart to make way for a counselor until the day of His coronation.  What the crowd expected will come, but He was there at that time to introduce Himself and perform the work that would gain us admission to the Wedding Supper of the Lamb.  Those who reject Him are found in this story too, along with their fate.

14 But his subjects hated him and sent a delegation after him to say, ‘We don’t want this man to be our king.’”

27 But those enemies of mine who did not want me to be king over them—bring them here and kill them in front of me.’”

treasure in jars of clayLord, make me faithful, but help me also to remember to rescue the perishing, to set free those being led away to slaughter.  Help me live with such a light that those in darkness come to see what is different about me, and in so doing find You.

 

 

 

 

From Overeaters Anonymous (Second Edition), “Keep Coming Back – Rozanne’s Story”:

“My treasured friend had what I wanted. He had a slender body, and more important, his eyes had a light that could only come from spiritual recovery.”

 

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

