Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“The illusions I had as a compulsive overeater were at the root of my illness. When exposed to the bright light of reality these ideas—my old illusions—crumble into dust and blow away.” — For Today, p. 134

danger expectations signFairy tale expectations make for drastic disappointments, which lead to weighty resentments.   The Twelve-Steps put my spirituality to life, and continue to help me to take what comes and make the best of it.  My Higher Power warned that “In this world you will have trouble…” (John 16:33a).   I was never promised a life of ease; what He promised was that He would never leave me nor forsake me (Deuteronomy 31:6, 8, Hebrews 13:5, Matthew 28:20) and that He had overcome the world (John 16:33b).  I will never be tempted more than I can bear (1 Corinthians 10:13).  My job is not to whine over how unbearable things are, but to bear up under all things (2 Timothy 4:5), to finish the work of generous love He has set before me (2 Corinthians 8:11), trusting that whatever hardship I endure is making me better (James 1:4).

 

From Proverbs 24:

19 Do not fret because of evil men
or be envious of the wicked,
20 for the evil man has no future hope,
and the lamp of the wicked will be snuffed out.”

One of the ways to endure the hardship we face is to refrain from comparing our hardship to that of others.  When I envy people who are not concerned with the purposes of God, I turn my heart away from God, and that is not acceptable.  It helps to take a step back and look at the bigger picture.  When I recognize that those who are comfortable in the material world have no spiritual hope, I mourn for them rather than covet their possessions or circumstances.  What a pity it is to live in darkness with no knowledge of the light!

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Luke 18:

8 “I tell you, he [God] will see that they [His persistent children] get justice, and quickly. However, when the Son of Man comes, will he find faith on the earth?”

14 “I tell you that this man [humble sinner], rather than the other [prideful Pharisee], went home justified before God. For everyone who exalts himself will be humbled, and he who humbles himself will be exalted.”

17 “I tell you the truth, anyone who will not receive the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it.”

29 “I tell you the truth,” Jesus said to them, “no one who has left home or wife or brothers or parents or children for the sake of the kingdom of God 30 will fail to receive many times as much in this age and, in the age to come, eternal life.”

Jesus had too many pearls in this chapter for me to select one, but it is good to read that He does not make it complex or complicated to follow Him.  All He requires is childlike faith and persistence.  Reward will follow, both in this life and in the next!

 

 

From Overeaters Anonymous (Second Edition), “Our Invitation To You”:

“As a result of practicing the Steps, the symptom of compulsive overeating is removed on a daily basis. Thus, for most of us, abstinence means freedom from the bondage of compulsive overeating, achieved through the process of surrendering to something greater than ourselves; the more total our surrender, the more fully realized our freedom from food obsession.”

 

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

