I am abstinent by the grace of God one more day at a time.
I can tell my body is coming down with something, so I listened to it and rested this morning rather than over exert at the gym. I have not been getting enough rest!

From Voices of Recovery

He worked in the lives of everyone else, but not in mine.

I think more than anything else, most of us compulsive eaters and addicts have resentments towards ourselves and toward our misconceptions of God. The self pity and anger in this one statement sounds so universally familiar that I am sure it is epidemic in our community, and is likely what holds so many back from moving forward in recovery. I have heard this attitude called “terminal uniqueness,” the faulty thinking that one is so darn special they cannot be salvaged, and that hope could never apply to them. It is the self-centeredness and doubt that once ruled us all. To be free of it, we had to promote God in our lives and demote our feelings about Him and ourselves.

Proverbs 22:2 (NIV)

Rich and poor have this in common: The Lord is the Maker of them all.

I am special to God, but I am no more special than every other one of His children. I’ve heard it said that God is no respecter of persons. Other Scripture, including some in this chapter, remind me that He requires humility, and He will take up the cause of the weak, and humble the proud.

Luke 16:13 (NIV)

No servant can serve two masters. Either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve both God and Money.

What masters me today? My feelings? My wishes? My cravings? My wounded esteem that drives me to try to make others happy? Not today! I’m turning myself over to the Maker today, giving Him reign over every aspect of my life! I could not possibly want better for me than He wants to give me, and I will accept what He has for me because I have accepted His value of me as truth.
Your will, not mine, be done, dear God!

the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, p. 87-88

As we go through the day we pause when agitated or doubtful, and ask for the right thought or action. We constantly remind ourselves we are no longer running the show, humbly saying to ourselves many times each day “Thy will be done.” We are then in much less danger of excitement, fear, anger, worry, self-pity, or foolish decisions.

