I am abstinent by the grace of God one more day at a time.

I was not able to do my typical reading and writing routine this morning, though I did get to spend a few minutes quietly before God, and that really does make all the difference. I had a cardiology follow-up at which any concerns I might have had were allayed. I was told I can drink a little more water, which was good news considering the drinking habit I had developed. My heart is healthy; I just have to give my body a chance to adjust to this new normal. The confused state it is in is called autonomic insufficiency, but in my case is little more than annoying, and that only occasionally. “Keep up the good work!” Was the doctor’s prescription after reading the results of my echocardiogram.

Voices of Recovery spoke today of principles rather than personalities, while For Today talked about fault-finding, one of my most glaring character defects.

Proverbs 21:2 NIV says, “All a man’s ways seem right to him, but the LORD weighs the heart.”

Luke 15 is the lost and found chapter, with parables that demonstrate our value to God and hint at the celebration that goes on in Heaven when one who is lost repents. A lost sheep, a lost coin, and a lost (aka “prodigal”) son all show me that I have value, that my defiance causes my Maker grief, and that my submission brings Him joy. I choose to bring the Creator joy today, by seeking His will for me and relying on Him for the power to carry that out.

