Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

Lots to do today, and I feel very rushed.  I almost left the house without praying, but caught myself and had a little quiet time right in the driveway.  The Great Orchestrator still managed to get me where I needed to be on time.

 

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Those of us who live this program don’t simply carry the message, we are the message. Each day that we live well, we are well, and we embody the joy of recovery which attracts others who want what we’ve found in OA.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 106

I hear a lot of people say that they can’t wait to get to a healthy body weight so they can begin sharing a message of hope.  Phooey!  The key words in this statement are these: “live this program” and “embody the joy of recovery.”  That’s what attracts people!  Now that I am a normal body weight, I have less audience with those who, like I used to, resent normal-body-weight people.  Living lighter lives, inspired with hope is what people are after.  Being lighter is only a side-effect!

 

 

 

From Proverbs 19:

27 Stop listening to instruction, my son,
and you will stray from the words of knowledge.”

Every once in a while I begin to think to myself, “Do I really need to re-read this stuff every single day?” or, “Surely at some point I can stop doing quite so much preparation for my day and just get on with it already!”  Then I run across a verse like this, or someone bumps into me and says that something I read, wrote, or shared helped them through something, and I am reminded that the One who made time will not be limited by it and His providence will never leave me wanting when I seek first His Kingdom and His righteousness.

 

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Luke 13:

Jesus reveals a little of His will and a little of our won’t in this chapter.  He longs to gather His children like chicks under His wing (v. 34) but warns that many will not make it to the banquet He is preparing on our behalf (vs. 24-29).  Alarmingly many who expected to be admitted to Heaven will be turned away and branded as “evildoers” (vs. 26-27).  Jesus also mentioned some noteworthy tragedies that people associated with the victims’ sin, but dispelled that notion, saying that the same eternal destruction awaits all who do not alter their lives by repentance.   To explain this, Jesus told a parable of an interceding gardener, which I believe is a picture of Himself, and we are each the tree.

6b A man had a fig tree, planted in his vineyard, and he went to look for fruit on it, but did not find any. So he said to the man who took care of the vineyard, ‘For three years now I’ve been coming to look for fruit on this fig tree and haven’t found any. Cut it down! Why should it use up the soil?’

“8 ‘Sir,’ the man replied, ‘leave it alone for one more year, and I’ll dig around it and fertilize it. If it bears fruit next year, fine! If not, then cut it down.’”

We have a warning in this story to begin to bear fruit in keeping with our repentance while there is still time.  The fruit of which He is speaking is not what I always thought it was, raised in do-it-my-way-or-else church congregations: of multilevel marketing Jesus to a world tired of hearing the rantings of angry hypocrites.  No, it is something far more obvious.  He even lists them elsewhere in Scripture.

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law.” (Galatians 5:22-23)

 

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 25:

  “The central fact of our lives today is the absolute certainty that our Creator has entered into our hearts and lives in a way which is indeed miraculous. He has commenced to accomplish those things for us which we could never do by ourselves.”

 

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

‡ From “Our Invitation to You” out of Overeater’s Anonymous:  “The OA recovery program is patterned after that of Alcoholics Anonymous. We use AA’s Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions, changing only the words ‘alcohol’ and ‘alcoholic’ to ‘food’ and ‘compulsive overeater.’

 

