Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

 

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

Click for source

photo credit: Washington Post

“How good it is to be free of fear of yourself.” — Before You Take That First Compulsive Bite, Remember…

When I am praying the Third Step Prayer, I often change the word “relieve” so that the phrase becomes “Rescue me from the bondage of self.”  It is less like God is taking my bags and more like He is delivering me from a lifetime of torturous imprisonment in a spiritual death camp.  The Deliverer, in my case, is not on the level of a bellhop but a Marine.  Selfish fear has held me captive as long as I can remember, and I am grateful, each day, for God’s faithful rescue.

 

 

From Proverbs 10:

24 What the wicked dreads will overtake him;
what the righteous desire will be granted.”

Yes, the dread of my wickedness had completely overtaken me.  Thank God for deliverance!

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Luke 4:

16 He went to Nazareth, where he had been brought up, and on the Sabbath day he went into the synagogue, as was his custom. And he stood up to read. 17 The scroll of the prophet Isaiah was handed to him. Unrolling it, he found the place where it is written:

18 ‘The Spirit of the Lord is on me,
because he has anointed me
to preach good news to the poor.
He has sent me to proclaim freedom for the prisoners
and recovery of sight for the blind,
to release the oppressed,
19     to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor.’[Isaiah 61:1,2]

20 Then he rolled up the scroll, gave it back to the attendant and sat down. The eyes of everyone in the synagogue were fastened on him, 21 and he began by saying to them, ‘Today this scripture is fulfilled in your hearing.’”

Deliverer, Healer and Redeemer, thank You for finding me in my captivity and restoring me to Your side!  Help me carry Your message to the dying and rescue the perishing.

 

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, “Physician, Heal Thyself”:

“I thought to myself—what is curing that woman? Yes, I put in those stitches. The Great Boss had given me diagnostic and surgical talent, and He has loaned it to me to use for the rest of my life. It doesn’t belong to me. He has loaned it to me and I did my job, but that ended nine days ago. What healed those tissues, those tissues that I closed, what healed them? I didn’t. This to me is the proof of the existence of a Somethingness greater than I am. I couldn’t practice medicine without the Great Physician. All I do in a very simple way, is to help Him cure my patients.”

 

 

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

