Simeon's Moment by Ron DiCianni (click for source and artist info)

Simeon’s Moment by Ron DiCianni

Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Individuals are fully self-supporting only when they do what they can, when they can, giving back some of the help they have been given in OA.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 166

We were made for fellowship and mutual support, and we are happiest and most fulfilled when we are doing what we were made to do.  Participating in meetings, talking and listening to other compulsive overeaters is a part of that, but service and giving complete the sharing circle, freeing our isolated minds and hearts.  When we stretch ourselves in the direction of our fellows, we grow.  The more completely we stretch, the more complete be become.

 

 

From Proverbs 8:

 “17 I [Wisdom] love those who love me,
and those who seek me find me.”

It is a joy to know that when I give preference to Wisdom she will give preference to me.  The promises of this chapter fill me with hope that, as I continue to pursue Wisdom, I will not be left empty or disappointed.

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Luke 2:

11 Today in the town of David a Savior has been born to you; he is Christ[a] the Lord.”

34 Then Simeon blessed them and said to Mary, his mother: ‘This child is destined to cause the falling and rising of many in Israel, and to be a sign that will be spoken against, 35 so that the thoughts of many hearts will be revealed. And a sword will pierce your own soul too.’”

47 Everyone who heard him was amazed at his understanding and his answers.”

52 And Jesus grew in wisdom and stature, and in favor with God and men.”

Luke, the doctor, sums up the whole childhood of Jesus in this chapter, one of the more detailed accounts of the incarnation of the Christ [Or Messiah. “The Christ” (Greek) and “the Messiah” (Hebrew) both mean “the Anointed One”].

Yeshua Messiah, thank You for dawning on humankind and illuminating the world with Your Truth, ransoming Israel and enlightening the gentiles, bringing all men to You.  Polish me with Your discipline and refine me with Your fire that I might magnify the light of Your Spirit and spread the glory of the Father to those in my company.  Make me reflect Your face, even as You, Lord Jesus, reflect the face of God the Father; I in You, and You in Him.  Amen!

32 a light for revelation to the Gentiles
and for glory to your people Israel.”

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 14:

“I must turn in all things to the Father of Light who presides over us all.”

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

