Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time. †

My precious bride and I enjoyed The Screwtape Letters Onstage yesterday. I recommend it to anyone, not just Christians. It tends to open the eyes of one who might view the spiritual as merely a significant addition to physical life. The production is still on tour, so hopefully there is still time to find it in a city near you.

Punxsutawney Phil prognosticates an early Spring. Can’t we all just live one day at a time? 🙂

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“This is one of the secrets of the OA program: ‘We cannot think ourselves into good action, but we can act ourselves into good thinking.’ Willingness to follow the suggestions of the program leads us to healing the wreckage of our lives and the ravages of this disease.”

This reminds me of one of the Twelve Apostles, Thomas, who had said that he would not believe in Christ’s resurrection until he saw the nail scars in Jesus’ hands and put his hand in His side where He was pierced. Later, when Jesus appeared to them all, He invited Thomas to touch His scars and put his hand in His side. “Stop doubting and believe,” Jesus implored him (John 20:27). Some of us have the blessed luxury of belief before the experience. Others of us must put the action before the belief. Faith is built from the two no matter which ingredient comes first – belief or action.

29 Then Jesus told him, ‘Because you have seen me, you have believed; blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed.’” (John 20:29)

From Proverbs 3:

5 Trust in the Lord with all your heart
and lean not on your own understanding”

Twice this morning, I have heard God say through Scripture, “Turn loose of what you think you know in preference for what I am teaching you.” What have I programmed myself to doubt? And how much of God’s supernatural power for my life have I cut off by obstruction? When I stepped out of God’s way and let Him take over my eating, He did much more than that. I have borne witness to the fact that God’s changes in the human life come gradually. Perhaps there is more graduation that is about to occur in me.

Lord, I submit that I know nothing compared to You. I am putty in Your hands. Please make of me what You will, and may I be useful to You for whatever purpose You select. I trust You! I believe I trust You with no reservation, but You can see my heart better than I can, so please sweep away whatever doubt remains in me. Make Yourself a clean dwelling place within me. I welcome You home, even as You have extended me a welcome to Yours.

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Mark 13:

26 At that time men will see the Son of Man coming in clouds with great power and glory. 27 And he will send his angels and gather his elect from the four winds, from the ends of the earth to the ends of the heavens.”

Jesus told us three times in this chapter to “Be on guard” (vs. 9, 23, 33) and four times used the word “watch” (vs. 5, 34, 35, 37). He warned that trouble was not just possible, but promised it, much as He did in John 16:33, when He assured us that, though trouble would come, we could take heart, because He has overcome the world. This revelation of His second coming was the rose of promise among a thorny warning of persecution to come. It was the truthful answer to their question which had mirrored our anxieties: What next? What then? (v. 4) His underlying message seems to have been “Be ready!”

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

