Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

I am living proof that just because one lets go of life’s reins doesn’t mean he can’t pick up an expectation here and there.  Perhaps one day I will learn to leave those expectations on the ground next to my sacrificed will where they belong.  I got my tassels in a twist over a disappointment yesterday, and it colored the rest of my evening.  I’ve got to learn to drop negative emotions like the hot potatoes they are.

 

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“In the rooms of OA, I learned the lesson of the AA pioneers: There is a God, and I am not God. In those rooms, I gradually experienced all the promises the Big Book describes. In those rooms, I am home. Today and every day, I am grateful to the God of my understanding that I was desperate enough to reach out and blessed enough to find the hand of OA reaching back.”

Gratitude for having been desperate is something one cannot appreciate until after the despair has been lifted.  I am so relieved to no longer be attempting to run the show, but one of a company all following the direction of the Higher Power!

 

 

 

 

From Proverbs 19:

17 He who is kind to the poor lends to the Lord,
and he will reward him for what he has done.”

There was nothing new when, in the New Testament, Jesus said, “whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me.” (Matthew 25:40)  God, the Spirit of Wisdom, spoke this through the Proverbs even in the age of Solomon.

 

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Matthew 27:

Jesus crucifixion power22 ‘What shall I do, then, with Jesus who is called Christ?’ Pilate asked.

They all answered, ‘Crucify him!’”

50 And when Jesus had cried out again in a loud voice, he gave up his spirit.  51 At that moment the curtain of the temple was torn in two from top to bottom. The earth shook and the rocks split. 52 The tombs broke open and the bodies of many holy people who had died were raised to life.”

The God who became a Son of Man to relate to mankind was received with the ultimate rejection.  At His death, the laws of nature were even stayed, and the veil that had separated men from God’s dwelling place was finally ripped apart.  It happened so that His Spirit could be translated to all men, the Spirit of Emmanuel, God with us, the Comforter, the Counselor would be in and through all who believe and obey.  (John 14:15-21)  The resurrected stood as testimony of the resurrection, as all who die in the Lord will be raised like Him. (Romans 6:5

Lord, I recognize Your death as the sacrifice that brought me Life, and I thank You from the bottom of all that I am.  I could never repay You for Your gift but this I do: I die to myself today, offering to You all I would wish, want and will for selfish purposes, and I exchange it instead for the grace You bought me with Your love and with Your blood.  Wash me clean and make me new, You who raise dead bones to life and restore the Light of Life to this darkened world of sin and despair.

 

 

 

 

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, “Our Southern Friend”:

“There are disturbances, but I have learned that if I seek patience and open-mindedness, understanding will come. And with it, direction by the Spirit of God. The dawn comes and with it more understanding, the peace that passes understanding, and the joy of living that is not disturbed by the wildness of circumstances or people around me. Fears, resentments, pride, worldly desires, worry, and self-pity no longer possess me. Ever-increasing are the number of true friends, ever-growing is the capacity for love, ever-widening is the horizon of understanding. And above all else comes a greater thankfulness to, and a greater love for Our Father in heaven.”

 

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

