Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

Today is proof that I can actually stick with something.  It is my 24th anniversary with my current employer!

I’ve got a busy day.  It’ll be another day of just highlights, with no commentary.

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Perseverance brings us the reward of continuing permanent recovery.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 105

From Proverbs 17:

He who covers over an offense promotes love,
but whoever repeats the matter separates close friends.”

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Matthew 25:

34 Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. 35 For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, 36 I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’”

40b …I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me.”

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, “Freedom from Bondage”:

“Through my efforts to get down to ‘causes and conditions,’ I stand convinced that my emotional illness has been present from my earliest recollection. I never did react normally to any emotional situation.”

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

