Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

 

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“We are neither above nor below the rest of the human race; we’re a part of it.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 47

I’m sure that I have previously written how I used to refer to the rest of you as “puny humans” as if I were something other, and how it was my first sponsor who, upon hearing my Fifth Step pronounced me, like him “an egomaniac with an inferiority complex.”  The label fit.  It sometimes still does.  God is doing a work in me, and gradually making me more comfortable in my earth visit, while I become more comfortable with the fact that I am merely visiting this flesh, this earth, this testing ground.

 

 

 

From Proverbs 13:

19 A longing fulfilled is sweet to the soul,
but fools detest turning from evil.”

I heard a description of a kid on the monkey bars.  He can’t make progress toward the next rung until he becomes willing to let go of the previous.  When we get afraid, we tend to freeze, and our grip is tightened around the thing that is most familiar.  Like that kid on the playground, we are stuck between where we came from and where we are going, suspended out of reach of safety and dangling precariously beneath it.  The only safe step is to let go of our illusions of self-sufficiency and reach out for what comes next.

Dear Lord, help me to let go of anything harmful, so that I can grab onto You and Your provision for me with both hands.

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Matthew 21:

Just as was prophesied in Zechariah 9:9, Jesus came entering Jerusalem on a donkey colt in what we commemorate annually as Palm Sunday.  The crowds shouted, “Hosanna!” a Hebrew expression meaning “Save!” which became an exclamation of praise.  The kids really made the religious leaders mad by running around singing about Jesus, and calling Him “the Son of David” (referring to the Promised One to redeem and rule Israel).  I looked up the rest of the song they were singing.  It was a line from Psalm 118:25-27, and even starts out with the Hebrew plea for salvation indicated by the word Hosanna.  The rest of the psalm seems to apply too.  Feel free to see what you think.

25 O Lord, save us;     O Lord, grant us success. 26 Blessed is he who comes in the name of the Lord.     From the house of the Lord we bless you.[a] 27 The Lord is God,     and he has made his light shine upon us. With boughs in hand, join in the festal procession     up[b] to the horns of the altar.”(Psalm 118:25-27, see also Mt. 21:9)

Jesus defended and even commended the kids, using Psalm 8:2 to show that they were fulfilling Scripture.

“From the lips of children and infants
you have ordained praise[g]” (v. 16, also Psalm 8:2)

Jesus had several teaching points, some of which He made with parables.  One goes along with my recent studies on faith and healing.  He insisted that His disciples would move mountains if only they would believe without doubting (v. 21).

22 If you believe, you will receive whatever you ask for in prayer.”

The other parables He told drove home the importance of making faith active.  He commended action over empty promises, and even told the religious leaders the tax collectors and prostitutes would see Heaven before they ever would because they were willing to turn from their old ways (repent) and follow Jesus (v. 31).  The next story was actually one of the Father and the Son, but Jesus told it about a landlord and evil tenants, who rejected and killed the landowner’s son after taking advantage of their provider and withholding His due at harvest time.  Then He made it clear that He was talking about the vain religious people.

43 Therefore I tell you that the kingdom of God will be taken away from you and given to a people who will produce its fruit.”

I pray that God finds me a faithful steward.  One way I can do this is to offer Him all of the produce of my life, lock, stock and barrel.  Save me, Lord, and keep me safely for You.

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 76:

“When ready, we say something like this: ‘My Creator, I am now willing that you should have all of me, good and bad. I pray that you now remove from me every single defect of character which stands in the way of my usefulness to you and my fellows. Grant me strength, as I go out from here, to do your bidding. Amen.’ We have then completed Step Seven.”

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

