Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

 

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“I now trust God to do for me what I have never been able to do for myself. I am powerless over food and the rest of my life. By God’s grace, I am able to stay abstinent and live in His will ‘one day at a time’!”

 

 

 

 

From Proverbs 6:

23 For these commands are a lamp,
this teaching is a light,
and the corrections of discipline
are the way to life”

I will follow You, Lord!

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Matthew 14:

We learn something of faith and something of the Faithful Servant in this chapter of Matthew’s account of the life of Jesus.  Even in the middle of His mourning over the loss of John the Baptist at the hands of Herod the Tetrarch, Jesus was moved to act on behalf of others.

14 When Jesus landed and saw a large crowd, he had compassion on them and healed their sick.”

“People brought all their sick to him36 and begged him to let the sick just touch the edge of his cloak, and all who touched him were healed.”

In other places, there was an expectation that Jesus needed to come, observe, and take action to remove the affliction.  In this account, the people gathered just to touch His hem and be healed.  The Apostle Peter had a lesson in faith, when he boldly asked Jesus to allow him to join him in Christ’s walk upon the lake.

29 ‘Come,’ he said.

Then Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward Jesus. 30 But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, ‘Lord, save me!’

31 Immediately Jesus reached out his hand and caught him. ‘You of little faith,’ he said, ‘why did you doubt?’”

Between the lines, one sees that Jesus’ expectation was that faith might have kept Peter walking on water.  I wonder what limits I have set on my life by the limits of my own faith, and how many of those limitations are based on bitter cynicism.

God, wash away my doubt and make me whole, new, faithful, and awake, so I may be of better use to You and my fellow men.  Give me courage to step out of my comfortable boat and step out onto whatever waters You would designate for me to tread.

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 62:

“Many of us had moral and philosophical convictions galore, but we could not live up to them even though we would have liked to. Neither could we reduce our self-centeredness much by wishing or trying on our own power. We had to have God’s help.”

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

