365 daysAbstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

Today completes one year of blogging on this medium.  Thank you for following along!  Being accountable to this blog and those who read it has often been the thread by which my daily recovery dangled, calling me ever home to literature, meditation and writing, just a few of the tools with which God builds and hones my life.  I thank God for any who read even just a little of what I etch in this electronic corner of the world, and pray that as God blesses me I may pour out a little something that might bless another.

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“‘A life of sane and happy usefulness’ is what we are promised as the result of working the Twelve Steps.” — The Tools of Recovery, p. 6

I don’t remember being promised this, but I do remember having hope.  I don’t remember recognizing my insanity in time to wish for freedom from it, but looking back I can see how the life from which I have emerged could only be called “insane”.  I do remember feeling useless, helpless, pitiful and desperate, and I celebrate the conclusion of that, although I cannot point to a day on the calendar when that bitter curtain lifted off my life.  Today is a new day and, one at a time, I can live each of them that come my way, free of the regrets of yesterday and the insecurities of tomorrow, joyous in the grace I have been given today, and useful toward the will of God which I seek with every dawn and every turn.

 

 

From Proverbs 31:

As members of the Bride of Christ, the global Church, the attributes of “the Noble Wife” found in this chapter should apply to every Christian, at least in principle.

13 She selects wool and flax
and works with eager hands.”

I notice she doesn’t wait idly for the supplies to fall in her lap, and she doesn’t begrudgingly comply with her orders.  She goes, she seeks, she finds, and she secures the select resources for her work, laying down her time, her experience, her discerning wisdom, and her wealth to the purpose of her mission: the clothing and feeding of those under her care.  I think of how many times I have grumbled about my perception of others’ ingratitude while I work, whether in my occupation or around the house, and how I have bemoaned the fact that I bear what feels like more than my share of the burden.   There is no mention of such fretting in this Noble Wife, the good Bride.  She even prepares meals for her servants (v.15).

How far short I fall from ideal!  God, clean me of my imperfections and build me toward Your preferences and purpose.

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Matthew 8:

Click for sourceJesus reached out his hand and touched the man. ‘I am willing,’ he said. ‘Be clean!’ Immediately he was cured[Greek made clean] of his leprosy.”

Jesus miraculously healed many and cast out demons.  He associated Himself with outcasts and touched the untouchables.  He showed by His actions that He had compassion for the hurting.  He commended the faith of one military commander, a gentile (non-Jew), who humbly bid Jesus to just speak the words and his servant would be healed, when others expected Jesus to come and lay hands on their sick.  He likely surprised His audience when, during His commendation of the centurion, He announced that many foreigners would take seats in the Kingdom of Heaven, and many expectant Jews would be outcast (vs. 11-12, see also commentary).

“…he drove out the spirits with a word and healed all the sick. 17 This was to fulfill what was spoken through the prophet Isaiah:

‘He took up our infirmities
and carried our diseases.’[Isaiah 53:4]

This chapter not only demonstrates Jesus’ compassion and healing ability, it showed examples of the breadth and span of His authority.  He calmed a severe storm with just His word.  He was recognized as the “son of God” by a troop of demons who begged Him not to torture them before what they knew to be “the appointed time” (v. 29).  This event actually changed Jesus’ reputation, and caused people to fear Him (v. 34).  Jesus described Himself as homeless (v. 20), and this chapter ended with Him being outcast, lending weight to the caveat He gave His disciples to consider the cost before committing to following Him in verses 18-22.

27 The men were amazed and asked, ‘What kind of man is this? Even the winds and the waves obey him!’”

Precious Redeemer, I thank You for coming to me in my untouchable, unclean condition; for loving me and reaching out to me though I was covered with the filth of my selfishness.  Continue the cleansing You have begun, and keep me progressing toward Your righteousness.  Any I would offer are but filthy rags, but You rescue, You wash, You bandage, You clothe, You anoint with oil, You baptize with Your Spirit. I beg, I submit, I accept, I follow, I receive, and I will relate with You because You welcome me.

 

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 57:

“God had restored his sanity. What is this but a miracle of healing? Yet its elements are simple. Circumstances made him willing to believe. He humbly offered himself to his Maker—then he knew. Even so has God restored us all to our right minds. To this man, the revelation was sudden. Some of us grow into it more slowly. But He has come to all who have honestly sought Him. When we drew near to Him He disclosed Himself to us!”

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

  This blog migrated to WordPress on January 1, 2012.  See archive page for history.

