Christmas starAbstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

Merry Christmas!  

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Thinking of eating is not overeating. We do not have to act on our feelings. The worst thing we can do is try to talk ourselves out of it… we can abstain, no matter what.” — A Plan of Eating, p. 8

I listened to the owner of a treatment facility describe theirs as “a relapse optional program.”  He said, “We teach people to expect themselves to succeed.”  These words, “we can abstain, no matter what” gave me the hope I needed to work my relapse-optional, abstinent program.

 

From Proverbs 25:

21 If your enemy is hungry, give him food to eat;
if he is thirsty, give him water to drink.”

If we are to do this for our enemies, how much more should we be pouring ourselves out for our friends and loved ones?  Selfishness has no place in the supernatural life.

I spend today with family, and did not get a chance to finish my routine readings and writings.  I hope to resume tomorrow.  God bless you with the peace of Christ, not just at Christmas, but always!

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

