OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAbstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

How about that!  The world didn’t end just because the calendar of an ancient civilization did.  Who could have predicted that?  I hope no one ate over the anxiety of the day that might not come.  As for me and my holiday guests, everyone enjoyed the additive-abstinent meal I served last night.  It was nice to hear the surprised comments about how good everything was.  “What did you put in this?” was repeatedly answered, “Nothing but heat.”  Folks even took home leftovers!

 

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Denial of the truth leads to destruction.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 6

This statement is accurate on more levels than I would guess the writer(s) intended.   This short sentence is nestled in an explanation of how our disease makes us suffer until we are willing to apply the remedy.  The next paragraph begins, however, with “The same principle applies to our unmanageable lives.”   This makes an inquisitive mind ask “So what’s the whole truth?”

“Jesus said, ‘If you hold to my teaching, you are really my disciples. 32 Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.’” (John 8:31-32)    Denial of the One who is the Way, the Truth, and the Life, leads to bewilderment, deception, and death. (John 14:6)

 

 

From Proverbs 22:

Humility and the fear of the Lord
bring wealth and honor and life.”

Anybody want vitality, esteem and provision?  I don’t just want it for me, but for everybody my small little life touches.

God, rescue me from the slavery of self that ends in death, so that in living abundantly, I may share what I receive with others.  Make me a reflector of Your light that makes people wander out of their darkness to investigate You.

 

 

Sistine Chapel Touch of GodFrom my reading through the Bible, currently in Malachi 3 and 4:

3:7 ‘Ever since the time of your forefathers you have turned away from my decrees and have not kept them. Return to me, and I will return to you,’ says the Lord Almighty.”

Whatever is wrong with me has been wrong with everybody before me, and is common to every man.  The invitation to me is the same invitation God gives to every man, woman, and child: Come back to me so we can be together!

3:17 ‘They will be mine,’ says the Lord Almighty, ‘in the day when I make up my treasured possession.[a] I will spare them, just as in compassion a man spares his son who serves him.’”

4:1b ‘All the arrogant and every evildoer will be stubble, and that day that is coming will set them on fire,’ says the Lord Almighty. ‘Not a root or a branch will be left to them. But for you who revere my name, the sun of righteousness will rise with healing in its wings.’”

God reminds His people that His blessing comes with a curse attached, and calls Israel to remember the words spoken to Moses; and I remember these:

“This day I call heaven and earth as witnesses against you that I have set before you life and death, blessings and curses. Now choose life, so that you and your children may live” (Deuteronomy 30:19)

 

 

 

 

From For Today, “December 22”:

“Never be in a hurry; do everything quietly and in a calm spirit. Do not lose your inward peace for anything whatsoever, even if your whole world seems upset. Commend all to God, and then lie still and be at rest in His bosom.”  ~St. Francis de Sales

 

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

